NOT a gaming PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2006, 03:43 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

you should definitely stick with that pc for the moment in my opinion. unless you have any particular reason you require an upgrade you might as well either use your cash for something else or be patient and save until you can afford a far better upgrade

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 06:52 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405

the only real reason you would go from intel to AMD is if you are OC'ing since the P4s run too hot to OC under stock cooling but fine at stock speeds, that P4 is great for your purpose

The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 07:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22

Hmm.. Well you guys are no fun! J/K.. I do have 1 gig of ram now, but plan to upgrade to more because I run a virtual machine environment. The motherboard I am using now is the Asus P4G800-V. I was doing a little research on it, and much to my surprise It can take a lot faster processor. I don't know what "kind" of processor I have now. (Prescott?) Anyone know of software that can tell you? I'll search this board for it also. If I was going to just update the processor instead of the whole board, what would you recommend? I know you guys are saying I should stick with what I have, but I a have a couple hundred bucks to put towards my PC and would really like to make it a little faster. I saw this one on newegg: 3.2 Prescott That would be right in my budget and looks to be a pretty good speed increase. I can also sell the old processor and not be out too much for the upgrade. I just don't know my P4's to know if the prescott s the chip I should get. Again.. Thanks for all the help. I am new to this board and am really impressed at the quick responses!!
EDIT: Another quick question...Bios Update I need to use the AFUDOS.EXE, but do I need the bios file to be on the floppy also. From the path they show I can't tell if I can point it to my C drive, or if the .rom needs to be on the floppy.
EDIT2: I found CPU-Z to find out that I now have the Northwood P4. Looks like the prescott runs hotter, but I woul d not be overclocking so I should be ok.

kurt4044 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.