not enough SATA Data sockets - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2011, 04:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
Default not enough SATA Data sockets

I'm attempting to install a 2nd harddrive in a Dell Dimension 4700. The problem is that I can't find a SATA socket to plug a Sata Data cable into. There is a 2nd SATA socket, but it is being used for a DVD reader/writer. the mother board shows sites for SATA 2,3 and 4, but there are no sockets at the locations. I do have SATA power where I need it, just no DATA socket. Is there such a thing as a DATA "Y"? what would it entail to install sockets at those other sites, (2,3 &4)?
__________________

walkinman86 is offline  
Old 08-13-2011, 05:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: not enough SATA Data sockets

There is no splitter. One drive per SATA. You can get a PCI SATA card, that you can use.

Newegg.com - Rosewill RC-201 PCI SATA Silicon Image, RAID 0/1, Normal and Low Profile Host Controller Card

Although it is a RAID card, you can run it as normal drives.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 08-13-2011, 06:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: not enough SATA Data sockets

Thanks. I found a reference to a card from someone elses post, and went to Newegg. Do you think the card I'm listing here will do the trick for me?
SYBA SD-VIA-1A2S PCI SATA / IDE Combo Controller Card
walkinman86 is offline  
Old 08-13-2011, 08:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: not enough SATA Data sockets

Yeah. Syba is a good company.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 08-14-2011, 05:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: not enough SATA Data sockets

Thanks for the help, I really do appreciate it and would have been stuck for a while without it. I've ordered the card.
walkinman86 is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 01:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: not enough SATA Data sockets

As an additional note, you can get a converter to hook a sata drive to an ide port on the motherboard.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 09:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: not enough SATA Data sockets

Never heard of that, Brinson.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 09:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: not enough SATA Data sockets

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinson View Post
As an additional note, you can get a converter to hook a sata drive to an ide port on the motherboard.
Yep.

Newegg.com - sata to ide
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to buy more SATA sockets? jambab System Upgrades 4 05-22-2010 11:16 AM
Smoking SATA EHDD - Any way to reclaim data? Jarik :: Tentsu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 12-22-2007 05:50 PM
How do i transfer all data from ide to sata? idcool Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 08-26-2005 01:52 AM
Problem: Can't access XP data on SATA Drive wingnutsglory Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 06-13-2005 08:45 PM
Can't access data from SATA drive freekn Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 12-19-2004 01:32 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.