Not enough power? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2012, 09:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Question Not enough power?

Hello, I have a PC with a P5VD2-VM SE motherboard, and I have some questions about the power this board requires, because of some advice I got on a different website forum about the graphics. Firstly the graphics are intergrated (which I've been told generally means they are horrible); and there is a huge problem with them that I have been trying to fix for some time now. Whenever I attempt to load a game (e.g. Minecraft), the system crashes. No blue screen, no error message, just an instant black screen and then the computer reboots immediately. According to answers I got in the other forum, it was either a driver issue (which I've ruled out because I've tried a variety of drivers including those that are recommended specifically for this board and the problem was never fixed), or a problem with the GPU's power requirements. I was offered the theory that the PSU didn't supply enough power to the GPU and therefore when use for gaming was attempted there wasn't enough power to go around the machine. The PSU is rated at 300W, and the basic setup (at the moment) is:

Processor: Intel Celeron D 3.06 GHz
RAM: 2 GB Installed
HDD: 250 GB (SATA)

I plan to upgrade this machine's processor and RAM for light gaming purposes, but I won't do so if this graphics problem can't be fixed. Any ideas what the problem could be?
__________________

Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 09:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: Not enough power?

That IGP probably takes 40w by itself at best. The PSU is fine and so is its wattage. The problem is the game you are playing (or trying to play) might be trying to use an API not supported by the IGP or the resolution is not supported by the IGP. The board has a VIA chipset, so odds have it this is the deal.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 09:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Not enough power?

And how would I go about fixing this? Would I need to install a new graphics card in the PCI bay or is it unfixable? If it's 100% unfixable or there's absolutely nothing I can do about it then I'm probably just going to scrap the entire unit.
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: Not enough power?

Well you can't expect to make a turkey with a grain of salt honestly. Intel IGP is bad, but VIA is worse. I wouldn't be surprised if it doesn't even support DX9C lol.

Just toss a card in the slot and you'll be ok.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Not enough power?

Thank you for the help. Do you have any recommendations for a graphics card? Names, brands, or specs perhaps? Minecraft is probably the extent of any gaming I'd like to do on this particular PC.
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: Not enough power?

What kind of money are you looking to spend? You could probably get away with a GT 640 or something small like that.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 11:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Not enough power?

Well I'm the type of person who buys most things like this second-hand (e.g. eBay, Craigslist, etc). With that in mind where could $50-$75 get me? And to raise the bar where could $100-$200 get me?
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 12:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: Not enough power?

You could buy a brand new 650ti for about 150. That would do perfectly for just about any type of gaming on a C2D.

50-75? Used, possibly a GTX 460 but the PSU wont be up to par for either GPUs.
I can't really comment on used prices though. Every area is different. Here, people still want 200 bucks for their old *** 280s. Ain't gonna happen.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 02:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Not enough power?

Sounds to me like the 650ti would be the better option, but I'll look into both of those. And what PSU rating would you recommend for either of those cards?
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 12:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: Not enough power?

You could get away with a CX500 if you wanted to toss for a new PSU. The 650ti requires a 450w PSU minimum.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, graphics, psu/gpu

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.