Not enough connectors on my new PSU for hard drives :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2009, 11:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default Not enough connectors on my new PSU for hard drives :(

I brought myself a new PSU but when installing it, I completely missed one fundamental point when purchasing and choosing the PSU.

My PC has two SATA hard drives, the old PSU had two SATA power connectors..
My new PSU has only one SATA power connector and so to sum it up, one hard drive is now running fine with the new PSU whereas the other has no power.

What can I do about this? Is there any way to connect them both to share the power?

Any advice would be great thanks!
__________________

Willeh is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 12:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Not enough connectors on my new PSU for hard drives :(

What psu?? Thats very odd.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Not enough connectors on my new PSU for hard drives :(

Very strange. You could always pick up one of these.

Newegg.com - APEVIA 4-Pin PC power to SATA Converter Model CVT45 - Cables
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 02:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Not enough connectors on my new PSU for hard drives :(

Sounds like you really skimped on that PSU. Not a good idea tbh.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 06-03-2009, 07:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default Re: Not enough connectors on my new PSU for hard drives :(

Thanks for the help everyone.

I ordered a molex connector to sata connector so it's all good, I hope :P
Willeh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
260GTX and another hard drive on my 460W PSU? jamaicaska New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-07-2008 07:48 AM
need help with cd drives memory Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 09-10-2008 04:38 PM
Is it possible to use a separate psu to run a vid card?? Jtumble2 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 21 08-23-2008 08:37 PM
PSU like acting like a vehicle... Chrysamere Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-01-2008 02:27 AM
Psu Redmo0n System Upgrades 6 12-15-2007 11:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.