Not able to access bios today - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2014, 06:17 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Not able to access bios today

Quote:
Originally Posted by canusa53 View Post
Thanks for the input, ideas and experience, Mike.

So, one can buy a BIOS chip to update a board? Hmmm..........I have tried to update/flash the BIOS. As I recall when I was investigating, my version is listed as the original and there have been many revisions since. There is the note on the ASUS site that if your board is older than such and such a date the one needs to first install a converter file. I tried this by downloading the converter from the site but nothing took. Though my profile header says I am a newbie I have learned a lot since build this monster (because sometimes it has turned on me LOL). However I am new enough to be leery to flash the BIOS and was while doing so. Should I try again? Also have tried the utility to update but it just hangs there. However, in reading at the site again it mentions finding and installing the converter in the utilities of the BIOS............hmmmmmmm.............gonna look at that. Of course I have notice the utilities but have not thoroughly investigated them.

Right now money is an issue and I also want to trouble shoot to see if I get this mobo in shape to learn and save money for now. Later I may scrap this one and get a new type altogether

Thanks again,

Lane

BTW......where does one find the page to change one's level of expertise on this site? I perused and perused this morning but could not find a place to un-do the "newbie" designation in my profile to something a bit more middle of the spectrum.
I understand the feeling, yes if your asus motherboard allows the removal of the bios chip.
I personally recommend you call asus ask them for a bios chip, they will charge you for it "10.00 20.00 bucks"
If your under warrenty still, they may throw you a free one, you pay the shipping cost.
Becarefull of where you get your bios chip from if its 3rd party based not by asus. :/
Make sure the programmer has a strong reputation on making good bios chip and not alot of negative feedback by others.

BIOS Chip Asus P9X79 Deluxe | eBay

Pre-programmed bios chip for P9X79 Deluxe

If the bios chip still does not work, beg asus tier 3 technical support for out of warrenty suport.
Depending on the issue they may help you or not, depending on what they may have in stock for mobos.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 08:29 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Not able to access bios today

You can get a chip here, but they have gotten very expensive since I purchased one from these folks (I paid only $12.)
Badflash Bad Flash
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 02:47 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
canusa53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Canada via the States
Posts: 27
Default Re: Not able to access bios today

Thanks Mike and guys Actually I did find a replacement at the ASUS eStore with the up to date BIOS. 15 buck plus shipping total $27 . Be here in a few days. Have also noticed an associated slow boot time (recently, it had booted much faster in the past) and hoping the new BIOS will remedy this issue. Hoping will stabilize the USB ports too.

One thing strange though (since this is BIOS related), I disabled all boot-able devices in BIOS except the SSD with Windows 8.1, the HD storage drive and one disc drive to see how much quicker it would boot and post..............it won't boot. Get the message to select boot order (which I did, left SSD as the #1 option) or insert a disc. I have to enable every option to get it to boot. What may be the trouble there?
canusa53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 11:52 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Not able to access bios today

I'm not Mike, but Windows 7 and Windows 8 have a tendency to place the boot file on another drive other than the drive your windows is on (the ssd) Re-connect your other drives and you should get your pc to boot into windows. You can also try a repair option to get the boot files on the C partition, I'm not that familiar on how to do that with Windows 8 at this time, but you'll need to disconnect all of the drives except the windows drive and I think you'll need to do some type of repair option
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 11:55 AM   #15 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,509
Default Re: Not able to access bios today

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
I'm not Mike, but Windows 7 and Windows 8 have a tendency to place the boot file on another drive other than the drive your windows is on (the ssd) Re-connect your other drives and you should get your pc to boot into windows. You can also try a repair option to get the boot files on the C partition, I'm not that familiar on how to do that with Windows 8 at this time, but you'll need to disconnect all of the drives except the windows drive and I think you'll need to do some type of repair option
Should be the same as Win7.

How To Write a New Partition Boot Sector in Windows 7, 8, or Vista

There's also this if that doesn't work: How to repair the EFI Bootloader in Windows 8 | fixedByVonnie
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Internet access issue. Not able to view certain sites. Cynthiaa89 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 04-22-2012 10:35 PM
Pavilion not able to access sestem recovery techuser3344 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-31-2010 07:49 PM
Restricted access still domain user able to change shared printer property zillah Microsoft Windows and Software 7 01-19-2010 10:03 AM
not able to burn a CD...it says CD is not empty! allan16 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 01-22-2007 12:08 AM
Enabled cookies but still not able to log in. jamilou Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-15-2002 03:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.