~Noob~Want to learn. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2006, 10:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 306
Default

how bout in between and go for the e6400
__________________

__________________







Office 2007 for Sale
StylinGolfShoes is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 10:04 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 236
Default

The e6400 is basically the same as the e6300 only with higher clock speeds, which can be easily achieved with the e6300 without it even breaking into a sweat
__________________

__________________

Main Rig
/// Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.8 ghz /// 512MB Nvidia 7900GT Gainward Golden Sample \'Goes Like **** Edition\' /// OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series /// Intel Extreme D975bx-304 975X Mobo /// 2x Western Digital Raptor X 150GB in RAID 0 /// OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply ///
Light Rig : /// Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 /// Intel DP965LT 965 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard /// Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 /// Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 GT 256MB ///
LU4sTrooper is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 10:15 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Quote:
@ dipique, the price difference between the e6300 and the e6600 is alot when your budget is $1k, however both CPU's are more than adequate, and will be for a long while, so I think in this instance the e6300 would be the better choice.
Did you take my avatar picture? Haha... anyways...

You're right of course; both would be adequate. I think the E6600 is worth the price though, for double the cache and nowhere near double the cash :-P

Quote:
The e6400 is basically the same as the e6300 only with higher clock speeds, which can be easily achieved with the e6300 without it even breaking into a sweat
There seems to be a bit of a misunderstanding of overclocking, here. C2D Extreme runs at 2.93Ghz; the E6300 runs at 1.86Ghz. But that doesn't mean that if you overclocked the E6300 to 2.94Ghz (possible, if you got a good one), you'd have a C2DE. You would have to overclock significantly higher to get equivalent performance.

The E6600 can be overclocked that high without undue strain, and its clock speeds should be relatively comparable with a C2DE.

Dan
dipique is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 10:18 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 236
Default

Quote:
There seems to be a bit of a misunderstanding of overclocking, here. C2D Extreme runs at 2.93Ghz; the E6300 runs at 1.86Ghz. But that doesn't mean that if you overclocked the E6300 to 2.94Ghz (possible, if you got a good one), you'd have a C2DE. You would have to overclock significantly higher to get equivalent performance.
Ofc it wouldn't because the C2D extreme features Hyper Threading and 4MB cache, but I'm saying that the e6300 and e6400 are essentially the same technology only at different clock speeds.
__________________

Main Rig
/// Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.8 ghz /// 512MB Nvidia 7900GT Gainward Golden Sample \'Goes Like **** Edition\' /// OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series /// Intel Extreme D975bx-304 975X Mobo /// 2x Western Digital Raptor X 150GB in RAID 0 /// OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply ///
Light Rig : /// Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 /// Intel DP965LT 965 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard /// Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 /// Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 GT 256MB ///
LU4sTrooper is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 10:57 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dipique
If you have a thousand dollars to spend on a PC, why on earth would you buy an X2 3800+? It's slower, has less cache, and it's completely outclassed.
The thing is he wants a basic PC which he can upgrade later. For the things he will use his PC for, he prolly would not even notice that a difference. A X2 3800 will do the job fine and save money.

Quote:
Originally posted by dipique
Hard drive access time is the slowest thing on pretty much any computer. If you've ever used RAID, you know that it changes the whole feel of the computer. It feels much more responsive.
Raid on a basic computer ? Totally not needed. I'm sure while he is loading D2 he can wait an extra 3 seconds to play.

Quote:
Originally posted by dipique
Yes, 2GB. I still can't believe I'm hearing this. Even 2GB is going to seem inadequate in a year.
Key word in there is in a year. If you read the original post it says, ' I would like a basic computer that i can upgrade later when i have more knowledge.. Key words upgrade later. Another thing, 2gb ram for Linux? lol. O-V-E-R-K-I-L-L.
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 02:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Quote:
The thing is he wants a basic PC which he can upgrade later. For the things he will use his PC for, he prolly would not even notice that a difference. A X2 3800 will do the job fine and save money.
He said "the faster the better." He said "budget: 1K." I was quoting the least bottlenecked system possible for a thousand dollars. Upgrades would center on the video card, display, etc.

Quote:
Raid on a basic computer ? Totally not needed. I'm sure while he is loading D2 he can wait an extra 3 seconds to play.
RAID used to be a big deal, but now it's a couple hundred dollars for both hard drives, you plug them in and they work. Faster. What's the complaint? Anyways, it's not DII that the hard drive helps; it's normal OS operation.

Quote:
Another thing, 2gb ram for Linux?
RAM keeps computers snappy long after their golden days are over. It's a good investment, especially if he plans on programming.

Dan
dipique is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 06:02 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to Burn_Cycle
Default

Ok... now i am scared to make a computer! So i think im gonna hold on that maybe for a bit. Whats your guy's feelings on Gateway computers?
__________________
<IMG SRC="http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e190/Damnation56/sweeeeet.jpg">
Burn_Cycle is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 08:39 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
The Napster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my car
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to The Napster Send a message via MSN to The Napster
Default

gateways are pretty good in general
__________________
DFI infinity RS 482
3Gig Corsair PC 3200
AMD X2 4400+ 2.4ghz
250Gig Samsung SATA 3.0 7200rpm
250Gig Hatachi SATA 3.0 7200 rpm
60Gig Maxtor ATA 5400 rpm
2x160Gig WD SATA 7200 rpm RAID-0
ATI X850XT 256mb
Antec TruePower 430
The Napster is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 08:51 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Any computer you buy from Dell/Gateway/HP will have a cheap PSU, weak components and a ton of preloaded crap. I highly recommend either going private or making your own.

Dan
dipique is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 03:06 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 118
Default

if i were you, i would just keep reading around and figuring out what technology meets your needs. obviously people have different opinions but if you keep reading you can form your own and make a decision from that.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net\"><img src=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net/sigs/0/4/55192050.jpg\">
Major Noob is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.