Noob question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2007, 09:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Default Noob question

i have an 80GB hard drive that is almost full and i want to add another 80GB i got out of my old computer, but first i wanna format the drive. how do i completely erase everything off the second drive?
__________________

Goped79 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Noob question

connect the drive as slave, use a windows boot cd and format the drive as NTFS full not quick.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Default Re: Noob question

is there any way to do it without a windows cd?
Goped79 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Noob question

Yes, connect the second hard drive as slave, like peter said, and then go to my computer, right click on the second hard drive, and choose format. Also like peter said, choose full format, not the quick format, and of course on the file system, NTFS.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Default Re: Noob question

alright thanks
Goped79 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Noob question

wow, i forgot about that
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Noob question

i like this one instead:

Darik's Boot and Nuke (Hard Drive Disk Wipe)

its Darik's Boot and Nuke, it comes in handy that it is recommended by the government when u donate ur system
__________________

veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Noob Question waytoosmall Computer Audio and Multimedia 7 04-23-2007 07:19 PM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM
New Firefox Question jason74 Internet Software and Browsers 2 04-10-2007 10:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.