Noob needing help upgrading Comp. $250 budget - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2007, 10:09 PM   #51 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to Z e i g
Default Re: Noob needing help upgrading Comp. $250 budget

yay here to learn! lol yes. i really find all of this very interesting and i think it is acualy fun..lol i am such a computer geek >.<

uhh.. okay that answered all but one. what is the best windowsxp that i can get for gaming and around how much would it cost? or will mine work just fine?

EDIT- wht is a CPU? lol and what does this do?
__________________

Z e i g is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 10:26 PM   #52 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Noob needing help upgrading Comp. $250 budget

Which version of XP do you have? As long as you have the cd and the cd key, you're good. It doesn't really matter which XP you go with, but the Home version would be cheaper. If you were to buy XP Home, it's about $90 on newegg.com
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 10:41 PM   #53 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to Z e i g
Default Re: Noob needing help upgrading Comp. $250 budget

uhhh i know i have a home edition...not sure which. how do i find out which i have? and i have the cd (lost my first one and delll sent me another) but how to i know the key? is that the lil number on the side of my computer casing?
Z e i g is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 10:43 PM   #54 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Noob needing help upgrading Comp. $250 budget

its the shiny label with a burnt hole
product key XXXXX-XXX...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 10:50 PM   #55 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to Z e i g
Default Re: Noob needing help upgrading Comp. $250 budget

yea that thing..it just says windows xp home edition
Z e i g is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 10:50 PM   #56 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Noob needing help upgrading Comp. $250 budget

it shouldn't, take a picture and show us
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 11:04 PM   #57 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to Z e i g
Default Re: Noob needing help upgrading Comp. $250 budget

well it has the code and other stuff but i'll take a pic tomarow and post it k?

nvm i don't need a new OP so idc lol.

i looked up stuff on duel channels and i didn't understand somthing. can i mix diff amounts of RAM? such as my currend 250 ( i think ) and a 1gig?
Z e i g is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 01:58 PM   #58 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Noob needing help upgrading Comp. $250 budget

In order to run your memory in dual channel mode, your memory sticks have to match in speed, timing, and size. You can mix your current 256mb stick with a 1gb stick, but it won't run in dual channel.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 02:22 PM   #59 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to Z e i g
Default Re: Noob needing help upgrading Comp. $250 budget

so then i would just put the 1gig in a diff channel or the same. such as both in the yellow slots or one in yellow and one in black? ( i'm getting the slot colors from that tutuorial u sent me (which helped alot thx)).
Z e i g is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 02:31 PM   #60 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Noob needing help upgrading Comp. $250 budget

It varies on different motherboards. But since you're mixing sizes, you won't get dual channel either way. So it doesn't really matter where you put them.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
friends BUDGET comp baron5 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 05-28-2007 09:47 AM
Noob Needs Advise for Building Gaming Comp therascalking New Systems | Building and Buying 29 05-20-2007 08:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.