No VGA port on my motherboard - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2005, 08:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

yes, you take out the battery for about 10 mintutes. or move the jumpers from 1-2 to 2-3 for about 30 seconds and move it back to 1-2
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 09:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What is the model number and name of your motherboard?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 09:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 50
Default

I might be wrong here but looking at magikmark8's i think that it might be the MONITER, not the video card because he said he's not getting any picture AT ALL.

Maybe your moniter is a dud
flurobmx is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 10:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327
Default

check the monitor on another pc. and check ur pc on another monitor.
__________________
gimli of gloin is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 10:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

heres a thought....maybe his computer isn't POSTing at all and the monitor is fine...OMG OMG.....

if you aren't hearing a startup beep from your computer, then the thing isn't POSTing and you have hardware conflict
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 10:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to magikmark8
Default :(

hey, yeah i tried my monitor on another computer and it works great, but the main problem is I dont have the 15 pin VGA port, i just cant get my motherboard to detect the video card in order for me to view anything on my monitor, all this computer has is a serial COM port :-(
magikmark8 is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 11:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well first off, you shoulda checked whether the motherboard had onboard video before you just assumed it did.

2. have you tried that card in another computer to make sure it works? If you KNOW the card works and have tried reseating it in this current motherboard, then perhaps your motherboard is bunk.

You can try putting the mobo out of the case on something like cardboard or wood and turning it on, and if it comes on then chances are it was grounding out in the case
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 11:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to magikmark8
Default

yeah, I purchased this motherboard from ebay, and they said it did have onboard VGA support, but when i recieved it, i said to myself "somthing is different", the mother board I purchased was a *3.2Ghz x64 Pentium 4 HT CPU & 915P Motherboard Combo*.
magikmark8 is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 11:45 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

A VGA-port add-on should have come with the video card. When you've got the card installed on your motherboard, you need to add the add-on to your video card and then attach the monitor to it.
Flanker is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 12:03 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to magikmark8
Default

yeah, I have a video card its a ATI RADEON 9700Pro AGP 256MB 9700 Pro Video Card, it has the VGA adapter but for some reason it wont detect my monitor, im sure its seated all the way in, but somehow it wont detect my monitor so I can view my BIOS info.
__________________

magikmark8 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.