No VGA port on my motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2005, 04:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to magikmark8
Thumbs down No VGA port on my motherboard

hi, i have recently built a computer and i am just now relizing that the motherboard does not have a VGA (15 pin) port for me to hook up my monitor, I also bought a video card with the port i need, but for some reason i still cant view anything on my monitor because i cant install the drivers cuz of the fact i cant see anything!!! anyone have any idea's of what I could do in order to get my motherboard to detect my monitor so I can see what I am doing?

Mark
__________________

magikmark8 is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 05:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 50
Default

hmm, it might be possible that ur videocard hasn't been set up in BIOS but i cant really help you with that, just look around in BIOS and u might find something
__________________

flurobmx is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 06:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default

After you install your card you should get a picture on your monitor...Its low quality, but its good enuff until you install the drivers. If ur card is installed, make sure its all the way in its slot. I dont know how many times my cards werent pushed all the way in and that results in a black screen..
__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 04:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to magikmark8
Default :-(

hi, yeah I would try looking around the bios but the computer doesnt find the monitor at all, the light on it stays orange (sleep) I checked the video card to see if it was in all the way in the VGA slot and it is, and still my monitor wont cut on at all, any other idea's?
magikmark8 is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 04:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Turn onboard video off in the bios and set it to AGP or PCI, wherever your card is plugged into.

Try to reset the bios.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 05:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 249
Default

Yea, go into your bios and turn off onboard video.
Gigabite is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 06:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to magikmark8
Default :(

One question though, how can I get to my BIOS if my monitor wont cut on, is there a way I can do this by doing something on the motherboard? please let me know guys. Thank you
magikmark8 is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 06:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

does your card need power to it i have forgot to plug mine in before.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 08:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

obviously this guy doesnt have onboard. so sit your video card all the way in. take it out and reseat it. try to clear the cmos or something. usually if it not working it would say something on the monitor. when i forgot to plug mines to my psu, it says PLUG INTO PSU!
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 08:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

I think by clearing the cmos they mean take out the little battery for, i believe, 10 minutes...(not sure there)
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.