No Sound!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2005, 09:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default No Sound!!!

hey guys i just bought a new Thermaltake Tsunami case and i put all of my parts inside it. everything seems to be fine except my sound. i have none. my speakers are plugged in and connected to the motherboard (integrated sound) and for some reason nothing comes out of my speakers. i've tried differenct holes in my motherboard but still nothing comes out. if anybody can help me i'd really appreciate it.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Are you 100% sure your Mobo has integrated sound?

What mobo are you using?
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

Hmm. Maybe you forgot to install drivers. Look on your motherboard CD.
__________________
My new puter

Athlon XP-M 2500+ AQYHA
Abit NF7-S
512mb HyperX
6600GT XFX
Antec superlanboy
420W Thermaltake PSU
Lite-On combo CDRW-DVD drive

3dmark 05: 3091
3dmark 03: 7589
bunnymanboy is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

MSI-RS480M-IL that's my mobo, but the problem is, i had a case before this and my sound was working fine. all i did was switch cases and PSU's. so i'm really not sure what's going on. yea i'm sure i have integrated. my friend just gave me a really old sound card called Sound Blaster Live! i dont have the drivers though, do you think i can get them online?
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

did you connect the internal sound headers to the case? if so make sure it's properly connected, If you did not connect them to the case, you have to jumper over the right and left channel I beleive to get sound to work again. I learned this when I upgraded to my Thermaltake Armor.. I accidentally unpluged one of the internal headers for the external audio jack on the case. and that caused the sound out of the back to stop too..
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 10:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

I had a hard time installing the soundblaster live aswell, so it may just be an issue of the drivers. I had to manually go into the setup and configure it myself
some of the worst spent hours in my day
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 10:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

I'm willing to bet it's the jumpers.. chances are his old case had external audio, and his new one doesn't .. or vise versa.

and it diddn't get set up right.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 11:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

hhmm i've looked around for these jumpers but i'm not sure what they look like. are they small and do they connect through little pins on my mobo?
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 11:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

your mother board manuel SHOULD have a layout in it
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 11:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 65
Default

emachines integrated sound doesn't like the new case :P
__________________

David1678 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.