No power to a new build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2011, 07:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default No power to a new build

So im new here but i thought my question would be best answered on this site. So hi to everyone.

Anyway, i just received new parts to build a computer and i had everything assembled. I go to turn on the computer and no power, no noise, no fans, nothing..... I thought maybe i connected the power sw leads incorrectly and tried switching them. Again no power, i tried every combination but the first or second time i reconnected them should have worked since the motherboard specifies where everything should go.
My question is could the motherboard be broken even before i got to try it out or is my case ****in up? I have a hard time believing that my mobo is broken, id like to think the power cables in my case is effed. I could go ahead and just put my mobo in this computer to see if it works but i want to see if there is any shortcuts i can take to test if my mobo is workin.
Thanks all, i can provide additional info if needed
__________________

pointless132 is offline  
Old 09-06-2011, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: No power to a new build

Did you use the stand-offs between the motherboard and the case motherboard tray?

What parts did you buy? Manufacturer and Model # please.

The motherboard should have two connectors plugged into it from the power supply, a 24-pin and a 8-pin.

Go thru this guide and make sure you didn't skip anything.

The animated guide to Building a PC. Learn to build a PC from scratch with PCitYourself!

You can always remove the parts from the case and reassemble them on top of the box, or on a table (someplace non-conductive, DO NOT assemble the components on the carpet).
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-06-2011, 07:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: No power to a new build

Maybe the power supply is dead if nothing turns on, so you should test the psu by itself to see if it works.
brinks is offline  
Old 09-06-2011, 08:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: No power to a new build

actually, i forgot about the standoffs. How would this affect my computer from turnin off and on? Would it make some type of current with the case or something and fry it?

I already tested 2 psu's and both work fine. Actually both are new. As for parts:
Mobo: biostar a870
Video card: HIS H467QR1GH Radeon HD 4670
Case: Cooler master centurion 5
...............
That standoffs comment is really botherin me now.

Gonna go try and put them on
pointless132 is offline  
Old 09-06-2011, 08:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: No power to a new build

Yes, you can create a short on the motherboard if you don't use standoffs. The standoff's are there to raise the motherboard off the motherboard tray/case enough so no contact is made between the two which could result in shorting out.
brinks is offline  
Old 09-06-2011, 09:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: No power to a new build

And be sure that none of the standoffs are in places that there aren't holes.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-06-2011, 10:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: No power to a new build

THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That fixed my problem!
__________________

pointless132 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First build, first power up...need some help. 3daywkend System Upgrades 6 12-05-2010 11:54 AM
New build, 4 pin CPU power to 8 pin? Shafra New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-19-2008 05:05 AM
power to a build taintedplay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-23-2008 12:04 AM
Do I have enough Power on this build? Phase-Six Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 01-05-2008 11:50 PM
new build won't power up bryanp0286 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 02-15-2007 07:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.