No power but Northbridge is hot. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2007, 02:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 58
Default No power but Northbridge is hot.

Hey all,
I put a new PSU in this morning. Antec True 430 Trio. Had it running earlier. Now it won't start but the northbridge gets hot?? So I am to assume there is power but nothing is spinning. Any ideas would be great. I've taken the board out and set it aside to see if it was shorting. Took out the ram for a beep but nada. Reset everything on the board. My roms don't get power either.
__________________

swtwc is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 03:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: No power but Northbridge is hot.

cpu seated right?
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 05:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 58
Default Re: No power but Northbridge is hot.

It's not a new build. Everything worked before. PSU went. Replaced it with a new Antec and mpw it finally powers on but then nothing. I don't hear the HD and tried a new one and still nada. My power switch was bad so replaced that. Set my jumpers to clear CMOS and still nothing. Everything is running but still can't power to roms. Runs all fans and g card.
swtwc is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 06:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: No power but Northbridge is hot.

so you didn't touch the cpu...just assuming of course...because I messed around with mone of my computers...had the cpu off of it for maybe 3 months...put it back and powered it up and thought I killed my computer. Turns out it wasn't seated correctly

So second basic thought...is their a little connector for the mobo...does the mobo have such a connector? Seeing if that is being missed.

Only times I ever mess with jumpers are when I test around with overclocking and mess things up.
atomic tofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
Really Weird Power Boot Problem i_am_a_robot Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-10-2007 08:13 AM
Test to see if new power supply bad? darsunt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 04-06-2007 11:57 PM
just changed power supply, weird harddrive problem (sata) idrisguitar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-31-2007 11:47 AM
weird power trouble when putting in 2nd hard drive idrisguitar Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-30-2007 11:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.