no onboard vid card how to work a pci card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2006, 01:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
Default no onboard vid card how to work a pci card?

well im making a pc this old one as you seen in my other theads about it and there no onboard vid card so i found one from another pc a nvidia geforce 2 mx 200 and im guessing not a good gfx card and its pci card and iwaswondering how do i get it working sicne i cant install it without seeing whats on my screen plz help me
__________________

andyroo89 is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 01:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

When you connect the PCI card it will show up something on the screen....just maybe not the right colors or something, because there are no drivers installed yet.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 01:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 164
Default

just hook it up and you will see something. after you get windows and stuff installed just get the drivers from nvidia. then you will be set.
__________________
AMD 3500+
1GB PC3200
ASUS Motherboard
WD 80GB
7900GT 256
goblue14 is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 02:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

^^^ Ditto.

Just be sure to unplug the computer before you install it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 04:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 164
Default

adn touch the case before you do anything, you dont want static on you. i forgot one time sure enough, it sparked. nothign happened but do it anyway.
__________________
AMD 3500+
1GB PC3200
ASUS Motherboard
WD 80GB
7900GT 256
goblue14 is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 05:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by goblue14
just hook it up and you will see something. after you get windows and stuff installed just get the drivers from nvidia. then you will be set.
how logn do i wait? b/c its stayred and little yellow dots and icant see any thing jsut the colors do i burn the nvidia driver software on a cd and put it in the cd thing and let it install itself?
andyroo89 is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 02:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 164
Default

just restart. that always works for me. see if its in all the way. and check to see if it works well in an other computer. it will be in 640x480 adn 16 colors. just keep trying.

edit: and make sure that the analog connection was in all the way. when its loose, its tends to mess up the colors.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3500+
1GB PC3200
ASUS Motherboard
WD 80GB
7900GT 256
goblue14 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.