No name RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2006, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 135
Send a message via AIM to McHopsky
Default No name RAM

I want to buy another Kingston 1gb stick of PC2 5300 667mhz to match what I already have. The cheapest price online is about 130.00, so I checked eBay if I could find something cheaper. Ive found a whole bunch of RAM of the same specifications, however, by companies I have never heard of, or no name at all. Some of these sticks are going for about 70 dollars if not cheaper, a substantial amount cheaper than a standard Kingston. Would this be a bad idea to buy? What could I expect with a no name company like this, especially off of eBay? Is it bad to mix differant brand RAMs?
__________________

__________________
McHopsky
McHopsky is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 06:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

You get what you pay for.
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 09:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

Yeah, don't go for no name RAM, ANY name is better than none.

You should be able to find cheap name brand RAM all over the place, Best Buy and such have sales all the time I see in the Sunday ads
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 10:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Yeah, DDR2 suffers from terrible latencies, even on the high-end sticks, so if you get no-name stuff, it's gonna be terrible.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 01:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

$130 is not bad for a 1GB DDR2 stick. Don't be cheap or you will be posting a thread about how much the ram sucks and how your machine is not running right.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.