No disk memory, new HDD? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2013, 05:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Question No disk memory, new HDD?

I now have very little room left on my hard disks.
I have two extra slave HDDs.
I have no SATA ports left on mobo (1 for main, 2 for dvd, 3&4 for slave HDDs).
Can I get PCI SATA card, and a power splitter for a new HDD?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 06:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: No disk memory, new HDD?

Yes.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 07:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knowitall!
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N. Calif.
Posts: 632
Default Re: No disk memory, new HDD?

You could do that but how big are those hdds on SATA ports 3&4? If they are relatively small drives it may make more sense to replace at least one of them with a larger drive.
strollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 05:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default Re: No disk memory, new HDD?

Existing slave HDDS are 2 & 3 TB! [see updated sig]
I have order parts on ebay and await....my only worry is that i saw a seller on ebay say a similar PCI card wasn't compatible with win7 64bit, my seller didn't advise, not did they or 4 others reply to my question....is there a card like that does win7 64bit?
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.