nice joystick - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2005, 11:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default nice joystick

Hello

I wanted to get a nice joystick which would be good for first player shoots as well as flight simulators

Is the functionality of the joystick dependent on the OS, what i mean to ask is would i need to check if the joystick will work with windows xp
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 04:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Yes, you need to know if it works with your OS, though most will work with XP. Check if it works on the Windows XP HCL listing found here. Whatever you buy, check it from there.

As for a joystick, I have the Logitech Attack 3 and it rocks. I've heard of it failing though...like some of the buttons would stop working. For one day, my throttle control failed, but it came back later 0_0. I still LOVE it, it looks like the traditional joystick and still looks cool with 10+ buttons. It rocks. It used to be $33 when I bought it, so its crazy that its freakin $16 now...crazy. One thing that the Attack 3 lacks though..you can't control the plane on the X-axis (aka. The Rudder). You can roll it and lift it, but you can't slide it. You'd have to use the "A" and "D" keys to do that.

If you're looking for something a bit more advanced or something...theres the Logitech Extreme 3D Pro. Its a bit flashier than the Attack 3, but I haven't used it myself so I can't comment. The price also went down for this. I believe that this joystick CAN slide and turn across the X-axis.

Saitek PS30. Looks good, but if you look at the pics, theres something next to the handle on the joystick that personally would bug me. I haven't used it, so I don't know what it is...but its there...ugh...
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 08:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the reply

the joysticks that you have sugested are good for flight simulators.

will i need individual joysticks for FPS and flight simulators
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 10:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

i would check out www.saitek.com
not a whole lot of people know about that company but they're pretty good. they also make some killer keyboards :P
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 10:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

you can use the same joystick for both flight simulators and FPS
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Yea, they'll work with both but I don't know how you can play a FPS with a joystick, lol. If you can, more power to you, but I prefer a mouse.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 04:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Get the X52's it has a throttle with it too and is just inherently badass. look it up on google or newegg and you'll knwo what i mean.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 05:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

How the hell do you play an FPS with a joystick lol
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 05:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Why would you WANT to? A mouse is better than anything...Well, not for flying planes, but for FPS a mouse is better than anything.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 05:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default

I have a Logitech WingMan Force 3D Joystick that works very well. It has a ton of buttons, feels good to use, and it has force feedback.
__________________

__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.