NF3-A Chipset ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2006, 03:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Default NF3-A Chipset ?

I have a mobo with the NF3-A chipset. Is it compatible with the 6xxx nvidia series? I heard someone say it wasn't. Is this true or will I need to go with ati or something.
__________________

viper15 is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 11:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

There are some issues when combining NF3 and 6xxx. I actually got the pleasure of experiencing the incompatibility myself. While gaming, I would get a slight pause in gameplay, which almost seemed like poor FPS, but wasn't.

With your mobo, go with an ATi card. The 9800 Pro is pretty comparable to the 6600GT. The x1600Pro I believe comes in AGP (which you need) as well.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 01:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Default

Rats, thanks
viper15 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.