Next Step - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2006, 03:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 38
Default Next Step

Ok, I broke down and bought a premade computer. I was confident in my building skills.
So I bought a Gateway. Dual Pentium etc...
Right now it just has onboard video with the Intel GMA.

I'm hoping to play World of Warcraft, do I need to upgrade to a PCI-E video card? I don't want to spend a lot of cash and I will be later purchasing a PVR card of some sort.

If I do need a card any reccomendation for around 100 bucks. I was think the 6800xt on New Egg. Would spending a little extra for 6600gt be better also how much memorey should the card have?

daytonoh is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 05:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
ulater6000's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000

Find a 6800 series video card w/256mb, and for pci-e.

Make sure your motherboard supports pci-e first though.

CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default Re: Next Step

Originally posted by daytonoh
broke down and bought a premade computer. I was confident in my building skills.
LOL , so you were *confident* in your building skills but got a prebuilt??
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 07:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 38

Yeah, that should say not so confident. I took apart my old computer thinking ok I'll get an idea of what to do. While I did fix a few things that never worked on it, I realized I was in over my head trying to figure out what wire go where.

I do have a PCI-Ex16 slot. I opened up and the case and made sure. I removed the modem that was in a PCI slot and put in a ethernet card. Like a moron I realized it already had one after I did it.

So if I get the 6800 card with 256, Do I just slap it in the slot or is there something else I need to do?
daytonoh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.