Newly Built Comp Won't Boot Up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2006, 11:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to tadpolefoder
Default Newly Built Comp Won't Boot Up

Hi, I recently built a computer (using the parts in my signature) using an old case I had lying around. However, when i tried to boot up (even without peripherals like cd-roms, hard drive, etc.), it doesn't work. Either I hear no beep at all, or just one long beep, pause, long beep, etc. I've read everywhere that that beep code typically indicates a problem with RAM, so I went out and bought 512 mb kingston value ram. But that still didn't solve the problem. All I've truly hooked up to the mobo is the processor (with fan), ram, and power supply. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

link to mobo:
http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=K7MNF-64-BULK-N
__________________
- Athlon XP 3200+
- 512 MB PC3200 Kingston Value RAM
- 60 gb WD 7200 rpm hdd
- FIC K7MNF-64 nVidia nForce 2 Socket A
__________________

tadpolefoder is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 01:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

This might not be it, but this may be the problem especialyl for first time builders lol. This happened to me. Make sure you lift up the little bar on the side of the socket b4 you put the processor on and then heatsink. Lol when i first tried mine i forgot to lift up that bar and lock it in. I just left it there. So the processor was only being held down by the heatsink lol. Just make sure that you lift the little silver bar up and then put the processor, and then put the silver bar back down to lock.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 03:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

no no.. this IS a memory beep.. i had this same problem... chances are you have the ram in the wrong bank or you got a defective psu.. i had the defective psu.. which in the long run fried 3 mobo's and about 7 sticks of ram.. so i wouldnt keep turning it on and off.. if you could, try another psu with it...
Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 10:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to tadpolefoder
Default

In answer to your question about the onboard video, I tried using my agp card, but when it didn't boot, I figured that it was just one more variable in the problem and went with the onboard video. For the PSU, I tried two different power supplies, one 350W and one 500W. Sorry for sorta playing devil's advocate over here. Thanks a lot for the replies.

Also one more strange update. When I hit the power switch on the front, the cpu fan seems to be spinning a bit slower than usual. But if I hold down the reset switch, the LED's on the cpu fan nearly double in brightness and the fan speeds up dramatically until I let the button go. Any ideas...? Thanks again in advance.

-Jut

__________________
- Athlon XP 3200+
- 512 MB PC3200 Kingston Value RAM
- 60 gb WD 7200 rpm hdd
- FIC K7MNF-64 nVidia nForce 2 Socket A
tadpolefoder is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 154
Default

double check connections from case to board. sounds like you may have power and reset reversed??

also if all else fails pull mobo out of case set on the static bag from mobo(or non conductive surface) and try to boot it to rule out a short behind the board. hope it helps
__________________
3700+ sandiego core
chaintech vnf4 ultra
evga 7800gt
2x1 gig corsair xms
antec tpII 550
80 gig hitachi sata2
win xp pro sp2
ibbonkers is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 10:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tyr
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ibbonkers
also if all else fails pull mobo out of case set on the static bag from mobo(or non conductive surface) and try to boot it to rule out a short behind the board. hope it helps
Bad idea. The anti-static bags that motherboards ship in are acually CONDUCTIVE. If you place the motherboard on an antistatic bag and turn on the power every pin and part on the back of the motherboard shorts to every other pin or part. This means that any 5-Volt component that is connected to a 12-Volt component via the conductive antistatic bag will be ruined. Do NOT place your motherboard on an anti-static bag and try to boot it up!
Tyr is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 11:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 184
Default

that is not true. You can use anti-static bags, but you are scared just use a piece of cardboard.
royalk4 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 11:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

what is a good non conductive surface then?
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 12:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Anything nearly, except carpet. The best place for me to take apart my computer is on the dining room table where there's tiles on the floor.
cyrax is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 12:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Tyr
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by royalk4
that is not true. You can use anti-static bags, but you are scared just use a piece of cardboard.
Hey man if you want to do it then go ahead but I wouldn't risk it.
__________________

Tyr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.