Newbie needs help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2006, 01:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to ojhk
Default Newbie needs help

I just finished assembling my built computer, and now it is not getting power too it. Can anyone help me find out whats wrong?
__________________

ojhk is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 01:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Ok well first things first


I need your specs.


and I need to know if its posting or not?

Do the fans turn on?
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 02:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to ojhk
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
Ok well first things first


I need your specs.


and I need to know if its posting or not?

Do the fans turn on?
SYBA PCI to Firewire 1394a 3+1 ports controller card, EVGA 256-P2-N553-AX Geforce 7600GT, XION _ Solaris XON-404 Case, SAMSUNG Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive, Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 "not installed yet", MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 2000MHz HT 1MB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor, Patriot 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory, Western Digital Caviar SE WD800JD 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive, SONY DVD Burner, no, I am on my laptop right now. Nope fans dont turn on.
ojhk is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to ojhk
Default

I know there is someone out there that can help me.
ojhk is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 01:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Ok Try this.


Take one stick of ram out.

and keep one in.

and boot up.



Also you didnt list your PSU and that could probably be the problem as well.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 01:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Check all your connections, including the floppy if you have one... if that one is off then it won't power... if that doesn't work, then pull the battery for about 10 minutes with the power cable pulled off the PSU and reset the CMOS Also make sure tat you have the CPU fan connected into the right 3 pin slot, that can sometimes mess up the works
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 05:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to ojhk
Default

I have a Xion 450 watt PS it came with the case.
ojhk is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 12:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to ojhk
Default

OK, I did both things and still nothing
ojhk is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 12:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 144
Default

look at the back of your case and make sure the flip on your power supply is - instead of o. if that doens't work check your 4 square pin 12v connection to your motherboard
__________________
(>-.-)==>
RepuLse is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 08:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 184
Default

Take the mobo out and put on cardboard and see if it boots while on the cardboard. Could be a grounding issue
__________________

royalk4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.