New Video card on a sony? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2006, 03:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
lastshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westchester, Ny
Posts: 203
Default

One thing i am sure of is the model #, It is a Sony PCV-RX753. " Digital studio PC" oh my...
__________________

lastshot is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 05:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

i couldn't find a lot of details on that model number, but the 2000 is the number of mhz!! so its a 2.0Ghz computer.

it has integrated graphics, so i doubt it has ANY graphics slot. 512mb SD RAM, expandable to 1GB (2 slots total). 60gb hard drive...

doesn't look like you can upgrade your computer (or your friend's computer... )
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 08:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Dude tell him to get a new computer lol, there's not much hope left for it. I'm 99.99% that he doesn't have either graphics ports, sohis best bet would be a 6200.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 07:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aliasaid
300-350 will get you a very nice card... just clear up the details on your comp...
Quote:
PSU rating. I would think it would be anywhere from 300-350
Not price, PSU rating



http://www.slo-tech.com/testi/plate01/agp_slot.jpg

AGP slot


http://www.ixbt.com/mainboard/images...16x-vs-pci.jpg

PCIE16

not to be mixed up with

http://www.hothardware.com/reviews/i...n/pci_slot.jpg

Those are PCI's
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 02:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
lastshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westchester, Ny
Posts: 203
Default

Yes, I understand that those were diffent #'rs ( first price, then watt rating on psu.), i was thinking it would be anywhere from 300-350 watt psu... I'll get sum pics just to be sure about the slot...
lastshot is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 03:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
lastshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westchester, Ny
Posts: 203
Default

heres a pic of one slot. To the extent of my knowledge, it is an agp slot.

AGP slot

And there seems to be 3 free pci slots, but the bottom one is rendered useless by a dialup modem...hooooray!
PCI slot

Am I correct? And if so, which should i use, AGP or PCI?
lastshot is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 03:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
Not price, PSU rating

ahh.. lol.. thx for clearing that up
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 06:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lastshot
heres a pic of one slot. To the extent of my knowledge, it is an agp slot.

AGP slot

And there seems to be 3 free pci slots, but the bottom one is rendered useless by a dialup modem...hooooray!
PCI slot

Am I correct? And if so, which should i use, AGP or PCI?
You defintely you should go AGP, and I would recommend a 9800pro or a 6600GT for the ~100 dollar price range. I had a SOny PCV RX650 or something along those lines, and i put in a 9800pro in there. Worked flawlessly Depends on how much you want to spend on the gfx
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 07:59 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

i would recommend the 6600GT or above, if PZEROFGH is talking about the ATI Radeon 9800 pro, i have that, and it really is just a ****ty card. i t doesnt even play WoW very easily, and any next-gen games are terrible

my sister plays Sims 2, and its laggy all the time, and takes 30+ minutes to save

i would reccomend the 6600GT or even above, if you wanna spend like 300 go with the 7900GT 256 mb ram its AGP4x/8x

-Phate
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 10:43 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
lastshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westchester, Ny
Posts: 203
Default

Would I need to upgrade my psu with a 6600gt? I'll check into that but an opinion would be nice. Thanks for all your help so far though.
__________________

lastshot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.