new video card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2009, 12:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default new video card

i have lately been having problems with my video card decided to swap out for new card

original specs

AMD 3400
abit kv8 max3
ati radeon 9800 128meg its about 8-10 years old
creative audigy
several sata harddrives (segate)
XP pro
1gig mem


new spec

AMD 3400
abit kv8 max3
*ati radeon 1600XT 256meg*<-- this is the only thing that was changed
creative audigy
several sata harddrives (segate)
XP pro
1gig mem

after deleting all software and drivers for the radeon 9800 and physcaly installing the 1600xt the computer will not boot to windows. It hangs at verifing DMI DATA POOL.

I tried reseating the new card many times that didnt work
I tried clearing cosmo that didnt work either
I put the old 9800 card back in it works just fine i put an even older 2x AGP card in and it works just fine

It still hangs at verify DMI DATA POOL
__________________

Kibble is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 01:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Gilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 196
Default Re: new video card

That's really odd. Can you test to make sure the new card works? Was the card bought new, or used?
I don't know why it would change with a card, but to be sure, check your order of boot devices to make sure it's all correct. Make sure there are no floppies or CDs in your computer. Make sure all USB devices are unplugged.

You could also try reinstalling your operating system.
__________________

Gilles is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 01:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: new video card

im trying to avoid reinstalling the os since this is was a computer my wife uses.
yes the card was brand new retail

but i will try boot order and take the cd out the drive
Kibble is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 02:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: new video card

Double check you didn't loosen other parts.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 05:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: new video card

If you tried two other cards besides your 1600XT theirs a good chance it maybe a bad card. To be sure try the 1600XT in another computer. If it doesn't work in another computer, it's safe to say it's a bad card.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 09:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: new video card

Hey, well i'm not an expert so i can't really say if this would work, but. if you have another card installed with its respective drivers, and you just replaced it, maybe the new card can't boot up the video, because the other drivers and conflicting, i would try to uninstall the nvidia drivers and try to boot up with the ati.

let me know if it works, or if anyone thinks this is absurd, you can let me know as well hahaha.
Elihur is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 11:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Gilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 196
Default Re: new video card

Elihur, you're absolutely right. You aways have to uninstall the old drivers, but he already did that.
Gilles is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 02:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: new video card

ok thanks for all the reply. Yes i install the software that came with the old radeon and i unstalled the drivers associated with it. I will try the intalling new card in a different computer and see if that works. only other computer i have has a 2 times agp slot so hopefully it works
__________________

Kibble is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help With New Video Card Hunter434 System Upgrades 11 09-21-2009 06:30 PM
Which video card to go with? Ksingler System Upgrades 4 03-20-2009 07:44 PM
Clicking sound coming from new video card. overclocked Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-17-2008 03:06 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM
New Video Card Dieo New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-02-2007 11:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.