new system config - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2006, 06:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 280
Default

Same here and I learned it the hard way.......I got a verbal beat down in my last post......
__________________

__________________
I wish I had my Computer...:(
Unknown Envy is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 12:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Its a graphics card. The Nvidia 6200 will be cheaper, so you can spend more money on performance that will benefit you.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 12:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

The reason everyone picks socket 939 motherboards instead of socket T is because the AMD dual core processors litterally wail on the P4's until they will never see living daylight. So, you have to pick a motherboard that is compatible with the wonderful processors we're showing you.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 03:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via AIM to neweyedeya18
Default

i have a 6200, dont bother trying to play any decent, new games, it gets pretty jumpy
__________________
neweyedeya18 is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 08:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default

here's what i got so far...

i'm a little over-budget so trimming ideas are more than welcome. the CPU seems a bit much right now, particularly since i don't mind going with something budget for now and upgrading later. again, expandability is the key for me on this build. TIA

a



CPU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562

mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131517

HD
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144417

case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119068

power supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817159025

video
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121544

RAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141212

DVD-R
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827152055
little a is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 10:44 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default

anybody have a look at this? TIA

a
little a is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 12:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Exclamation

useful stuff...thanx
snair88 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 01:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to wxt38
Default

i didn't look into all the parts and how much are they in total?
wxt38 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 07:58 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wxt38
i didn't look into all the parts and how much are they in total?
i don't remember the exact figure but i'm a bit over budget and i was hoping for some ideas on how to trim down.

a
little a is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 08:27 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

are you going to be overclocking the CPU?
if so, i'd recommend the DFI Nf4 Ultra-D
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136159

it is less expensive than the Asus board, but about equal in overclocking potential.

but if you are not overclocking, I would suggest the MSI K8N Neo4-F
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491
that is a great board. it still has descent overclocking potential. not as much as the Asus or DFI board, but is less expensive.

i would suggest this power supply.
it's constant output is 450W but can go higher if necessary (although you probabbly won't need it to)
it is a high quality but not so expensive PSU

Nvidia 7300 GS
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814122238
performs nearly as well as the 6600 GT and costs $65
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.