new system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2006, 10:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 40
Default new system

Hello everyone thanks for your help on this matter.

I want to build a system with this configuration

247035 Asus A8R-MVP Radeon Xpress 200 Athlon 64(FX)/64 X2 Dual-Core/Sempron Skt939 DDR ATX Motherboard w/Audio, Gigabit LAN, RAID/Serial ATA Retail

270024 Antec TruePower 2.0 EPS12V 550W Power Supply Retail

321352 ATI Radeon X1300 Pro PCI Express 256MB DDR2 Video


80097-20 Kingston HyperX KHX3200AK2/1G 1GB Kit DDR400 PC3200 Memory w/Heat Spreader

80721-1 AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Processor Socket 939 Retail (2 ghz)

The x1300 is crossfire ready, I will add the other video card down the road and go with 2gb of dual channel memory


I currently have this case

That’s why our SLK2650-BQE boasts an array of features usually limited to more expensive cases. Like an ultra-quiet 350 Watt SmartPower power supply. Eight drive bays for maximum expandability. A low-speed 120mm fan for remarkably quiet cooling. And it’s backed by our unbeatable 3-year warranty. So grab one today!


Features:
3.0 Ghz compatible
Chassis Air Guide (on side panel) provides room temperature air directly to CPU cooler
Ultra-quiet 350 Watt SmartPower ATX12V power supply
- for AMD™ & Intel® systems
- SmartPower runs cooler and quieter
2 Front USB ports with shielded cables
Removable Side Panels
Removable Drive Cages
8 Drive Bays:
- External: 4 x 5.25", 2x 3.5"
- Internal: 2 x 3.5"
Cooling capacity:
- 1 120mm rear (standard)
- 1 80mm front (optional)
- Chassis Air Guide (standard) with optional 80mm fan
Fan Specs:
-RPM: 1200
-CFM: 38.94
-dB(A): 25
Motherboards up to Standard ATX


ATI has what they call ceritfied hardware for use with crossfire

the say use this power suppy by antec

TP2-550EPS12V
550 Watt EPS12V PSU
http://www.antec.com/us/productDetai...?ProdID=22551#


My question Is the power supply I have now enough to handle this system? It is atx12v but only 350 watts! If I can eliminate the power supply I will use that money for more ram.


thanks for your help. I am currently without a system at the moment. Still waiting to here from ANtec and Ati.
__________________

titanwolf is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 11:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

So, you're going to put:
  • Asus A8R-MVP
  • Antec TruePower 2.0 EPS12V 550W
  • ATI Radeon X1300 Pro
  • Kingston HyperX PC3200 1GB Kit
  • AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+

into an Antec SLK2650-BQE, and want to know if the 350W PSU that came in the case will handle the setup, or should you go with the TP2-550EPS12V?

350W ain't gonna cut it. It'll be close, and close causes problems.

Go with the 550, and sell/trade the 350.

Oh, and if you plan on going with 2gig later, get a single stick of 1gig now. Using 4 DIMMs is actually slower than using two big ones.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 40
Default

thanks

Figured as much.

going with 2gb of ram (2 x 1gb) dual channel.
titanwolf is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 12:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

That's the ticket!
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 07:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

What are u doin in the general PC section, looks like u should be in the high performance section.

but newayz, if ur goin to OC, i'd got with the dual-core Opteron 165 ($325 on newegg) instead of the X2 (thats what i'm doin for my new build), most people get their 165 to 2.6GHz if not above on air cooling. Plus its got 2 * 1MB L2 cache.

also if you want to wait, wait for the X1800GTO to come out in April
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.