New Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2013, 01:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 235
Default New Ram

I just bought a second motherboard to get my system up and running while my other board is being RMAed. I am going to use this new board in a media center pc. I am thinking of buying new RAM for my gaming PC and putting the original in the micro pc I am building. Should I go with 8gb or 16gb for the gaming PC. I have found this RAM for $143 for 16gb.

Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb x2
__________________

bpm55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 01:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default Re: New Ram

That is a 2x4 kit, you're better off getting a 2x8 kit.

The exact same stuff I'm running right now.
Newegg.com - PNY XLR8 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model MD16384KD3-1600-X9

Before you ask, is it necessary for gaming? No. If you have the money to blow, get it while DDR3 is still "cheap".
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 235
Default Re: New Ram

Is it better to have two sticks? I was just going to buy 4x4gb to fill all slots
bpm55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 03:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default Re: New Ram

Yes. Although it's pretty much a non-issue with Intel CPUs (besides 8 sticks and X79) 4 sticks will put more strain on the IMC.

In any case, 2 sticks leaves you room for upgrade.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 03:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 235
Default Re: New Ram

Sounds good guess I will go with two 8gb pieces.

How about this?
PNY 16GB Kit (4 x 4GB) 16 Quad Channel Kit DDR3 1866 (PC3 15000) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM MD16384K4D3-1866-X9

It is cheaper

or this
PNY - XLR8 4-Pack 4GB PC3-12800 DDR3 CAS 9 Desktop Memory Kit
bpm55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
more ram, new ram, ram

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.