New RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2011, 09:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
Default New RAM

Hi

I just added additional RAM to my Dell E520. It's a 32 bit system so I bought 2 cartridges of 2gb, each of DD2 PC5300 from Crucial. I figure 4 gb is all the system will recognize.

The rig runs a **** of a lot better, (surprise, surprise...), but I noticed when I went to system in the control panel, that the machine is only recognizing 2.99 gb of the new RAM.

Why is that? does it make any difference in the computer's performance, and if so, is there anything I can do to rectify the situation?

I appreciate any input any of you fine ladies and gents can give me
__________________

walkinman86 is offline  
Old 08-07-2011, 10:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: New RAM

You are running 32 bit version of windows.you can find more info on this in our windows sub forum
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 08-07-2011, 10:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Windows reserves a set amount of space for hardware allocation. Since you have a 32 Bit OS you will not recognize the full 4GB. The rest of the space is reserved for the hardware you are running this includes your video card.

So roughly 750MB is reserved for hardware allocation. The rest is missing due to your video card. Be it used as onboard or a video card that is the rest of the space.

If you want the full amount used, you will have to reinstall Windows and use 64 Bit. That is if you have a CPU that can support it and you have a retail version of Windows that will allow you to reinstall with the 64 Bit version. But since it is a Dell that means it is OEM. That doesn't allowed for the last part to happen without buying a new copy of Windows.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.