new purchase questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2006, 12:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default new purchase questions

hi everyone.
i am looking into buying this system from dell. i think i have done enough research to know it will be a good system for general use as well as games.
i do know also through research that the graphics card sucks, but i will not buy good one from dell, and they won't make me one without this card at least. i will upgrade it to either a geforce 7600gt or an ati x1900 or x1650 in the near future.
i also know i could build my own computer, but at this time i am not inclined to do so.
not too worried about gc because i think the types of games i will play often (rts) will depend on the cpu more.
i know a e6300 conroe will be faster if it is overclocked. i'm not gonna do that, either (at least not for a long while). but the benchmarks i have seen suggest that the 4600+ at stock will perform in the neighborhood of the e6400-e6600, also at stock speeds. the 5000+ a little better than the conroes (listed above) at stock.
anyways...
a few questions...
will ati gc be better choice with the amd cpu?
is it worth another 100 bucks to get the 5000+?
as far as upgrades in the future...does anyone know, will i be able to upgrade the mobo (say if i want to run sli with nvidia, will need another pcie slot)?
will this system supprt ddr2800 ram (wouldn't that be better?)? i think, based on my reading, that the cpu will. just don't know if everything else will work with it. and it's kind of costly (as i'm sure you all know) to buy 2gb of ocz...and doooo! no workie.

Components
PROCESSOR AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core 4600+ (am2 socket) nforce 4 chipset
OPERATING SYSTEM Genuine Windows® XP Media Center Edition 2005 edit
MEMORY 2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHz- 2DIMMs edit
HARD DRIVE 160GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache™ edit
OPTICAL DRIVE 16x DVD+/-RW Drive edit
MONITOR 20 inch Ultrasharp™ 2007FP Digital Flat Panel edit
VIDEO CARD 256MB NVIDIA Geforce 7300LE TurboCache edit
SOUND Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio
total price (incl. shipping) 1109.00 us

any help is appreciated and thanks in advance.
__________________

Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 12:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

if you have to go dell then I would suggest if they have the 4400 x2, get it, it gives you the faster L2 cache. but it's ok... the video card sucs, but that's what you get from dell... the 5K isn't worth it to me for the extra Ghz... the L2 makes a bigger difference, than clock speed.

BTW.. link please if you have one...

why not build if you have the money?
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 12:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

nukem thanks.
unfortuantely the 4400 and the 4800 that have the larger cache are no longer available (from dell anyway).
that's about what i figured with the 5k+.
about building, well, it's not really money or ability (haha), i just don't have much free time. what a great excuse!
and to be honest, i just want something to perform straight out of the box with no tweaking or heat problems, adjustments, etc.
do you mean the link to the dell site?
also, what do you all think about the upgradeability and the other questions in my post?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 12:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

i think this is the link:
http://configure.us.dell.com/dellsto...BA3&s=dhs&fb=1

ha ha if not, you can see why i am not building a computer...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 12:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 56
Default

I think the turbo cache video cards use system memory which is sketchy
fork is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 01:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

then save a few bucks and go for the 3800 x2... no sense paying 150 more for a couple of extra Ghz you might be able to get yourself. but honestly even the 4600 isn't worth the price. get the Audigy sound and maybe even the remote so you can watch you stuff from afar..
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 03:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

i have noticed that most people who have x2's in their signature have 3800's. i guess they are really almost as good. maybe can spend the dough on a waaaay better vid card.
and yes, fork, they do. a 256 card can use as much as 256 of your system memory.
which is sketchy.
but, i have no reason to spend the 50 bucks to "upgrade" to a x1300 pro...cos it sucks, too.
will consider the 3800+
are there any benchmark comparisons that will give me a real idea of the stock performance difference between x2's and conroe's?
does anyone know?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.