New PSU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2005, 12:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Default New PSU?

I was wondering if I should get a new PSU, as I am using the one that I came with my case and I heard that they are not the best.

I think its 450 watts, but I am not sure. I will check later. If I do need a new one, could you recommend a brand?

Thanks
__________________

Sri223 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 12:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Well itd really help if you told us your Specs and the specifications of the Power supply which you can find on its side, should be a sticker.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 12:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Okay, here it is:

AC Input | 115v/230v 10A/6A 60/50 Hz
DC Output| +3.3v | +5v | +12v | -12v | -5v | +5VSB
LP-8850B | 26A | 35A | 15A | 0.8A | 0.5A| 21
450 Max Combined watts

Those |'s are supposed to line up to make columns, they are a little diagonal especially at the end.
Sri223 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 12:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

id get a new one, What are your computer specs.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 12:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Here's the specs:

2.5 Ghz P4
512 MB Ram
120 gig WD HDD
Geforce 5700 video card


Can you reccommend a good brand to get? I'd rather just go pick one up at CompUSA or something rather then ordering off the internet, just so I dont have to wait.
Sri223 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Hrmm you really don't need much.

I just don't like the 15Amps on 12V rail.

If you want you can look here http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...0089&Ne=200000

but its always easier to order offline cause there are alot more choices and details on the PSU. I think itll be fine for now but if u upgrade may wanna buy a new one.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Okay, I'll probably get a new one by the end of this month or I will be worrying about it every time I leave my computer on

What would be a good number of amps for all of the rails? I don't know much about PSUs, and I dont want to end up buying another bad one.

Thanks
Sri223 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

18 or Higher is good.

Also Enermax noisetakers are a good series and usally on the less expensive side, so if you can find one of them, thatd be great.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Okay. 18 or higher on all of the rails?

I'll keep my eyes open for any Enermax's also.

I appreciate your help!
Sri223 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Nah, 18 Or higher for the 12V rail, The other rails are usally good.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.