New processor and power supply questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2006, 02:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Default New processor and power supply questions

Hey. I was looking at upgrading my power supply and processor and I just have a couple questions.

First of all how can I tell if my motherboard supports a certain processor? I currently have a P4 1.6 ghz.

Second does it matter how big of a power supply I buy, can I fry the computer if I buy too powerful of one? And are all power supplies mainly wired the same. For example would they all have the same plugins, like my current one has a square shaped plug that goes into the motherboard. Would all supplies have the same plug or does the power supply kind of have to match the motherboard, etc.?

Thanks!
__________________

b-rett686 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 03:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default

p4 processor are almost the same ..
u can buy any one BUT the dual core ones .. cuz u have to upgrade ur mother board by then !!
and about the psu .. well i dont know much about them .. but i think that the psu will only give the power ur system need !!
p.s : why do u want to upgrade ur psu anyway ?? r u buying anything that needs it ??
__________________

__________________
plz god .. if u cant make me thin ..
make all my friends very fat !
JinkX is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 03:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 87
Default

you can't buy any p4 processor...

p4 1.6 is an old processor and is probably socket 478, you will need to find your motherboard model to be sure and then just go onto the mobo site and look at the model and it should tell you what processors are supported...

he doesn't necessarily need to be getting anything that needs more power to need a new PSU what if his current one is old and he doesn't wanna put anything in his pc in harms way incase it gives in...
__________________
http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/9...gfinal2ld2.jpg
__________________
CPU: Intel Q6600 Quad @ 2.4 Ghz per core
Motherboard: ASUS P5B-Deluxe wifi
Hardrives: IDE MAXTOR 80 Gb (Windows)
2x SATA MAXTOR 320 Gbs in raid
Video Card: Nvidia 8800GTS (revised 512mb)
RAM: 6 Gb 667 kingston dual channel
Monitor: ASUS VW192T
Mouse: Microsoft Habu
Power Supply: Topower 1000W
OS: Windows XP x64 edition (to support all ma ram :D)
pat2k5 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 03:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 87
Default

and in response to power supplies they should all have the square 4 pin plug for the mobo and they also all have the rectangle plug, the only difference is some are 20 pin and some are 24 (the rectangle ones)
__________________
http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/9...gfinal2ld2.jpg
__________________
CPU: Intel Q6600 Quad @ 2.4 Ghz per core
Motherboard: ASUS P5B-Deluxe wifi
Hardrives: IDE MAXTOR 80 Gb (Windows)
2x SATA MAXTOR 320 Gbs in raid
Video Card: Nvidia 8800GTS (revised 512mb)
RAM: 6 Gb 667 kingston dual channel
Monitor: ASUS VW192T
Mouse: Microsoft Habu
Power Supply: Topower 1000W
OS: Windows XP x64 edition (to support all ma ram :D)
pat2k5 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Awesome thanks alot. I bought a new video card for 50% off and it's reccomended that i have at least 300W and I only have 250W. I just want to make sure I don't put too much power in it if that's possible. So should I just look at my current power supply and see if it's 20 or 24 pin and order whatever I have?

Also how do I know how much power I need? I have a graphics card that needs at least 300W, a dvd drive, a cd burner, 1 40GB hard drive. Do I need 300W+whatever the cd drives need+whatever the hard drive needs, etc. or do you just go by the most demanding piece (in this case the video card). In other words if I bought a 300W power supply would it only run the video card and nothing else.

Thanks alot again!
b-rett686 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 02:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 145
Default

did you try the search button there is an excellent guide somewhere.
i would get a 400-500 one anyhow any you would be safe. anatec true power 550w from newegg I think that what it is called
__________________
asus a8n sli premium
amd 64 venice 3800 2.4
xfx 6800gt
wd 80gb
2 512 cosair value ram
19in hw191d widescreen lcd
tomc102968 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 04:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I found an awesome tutorial on power supplies. Anybody can find it here

As for the processor, I've searched everywhere and I can not find a name for my motherboard. I check the Dell site and all they can tell me is it's an ASUS. Is there any other possible way I find out what processors are supported?

Thanks
b-rett686 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 08:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Go here:
http://support.dell.com/#

Use Option #2 and choose your basic system (probably a Dimension?). Choose Manuals. Look up your system in the column on the right. Click View for the Service Manual, then click Technical Specifications.

It won't tell you eactly, but it should give you a range of speeds and maybe FSB speeds. From there, either post what it says, or look up the different speed CPUs on NewEgg and see for sure.

But I gotta go with Pat... odds are it is a 478. Your limiting factor for a new CPU will be the limit of the FSB of your motherboard.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.