New processor or just more RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2006, 01:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 13
Question New processor or just more RAM?

Hallo~
I have a question, I'm trying to decide if I should get a better processor or just get more RAM.

I'm trying to get my PC more tolerant of newer games(i.e. Oblivion/Dark Messiah/etc) and I've been told getting more RAM is often just as good as getting a better processor, but sometimes it's better just to start bigger.

My basic specs are:

2.40 GHz, Pentium 4
1.50 GB RAM
GeForce 6800


With games like Oblivion, Condemned or Dark Messiah, I get to near-crippling (i.e. 3 to 6) FPS(even at the lowest settings) in open, more graphic demanding areas, but with almost-just-as-new games like Half-Life 2, Call of Cthulhu, and Quake 4 I hit decent to perfect framerates with max settings.

So what would you all recommend? RAM is cheaper, but supposedly sometimes RAM doesn't do the job all-around as a processor would. Or would it be just as good either way?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
__________________

Zill is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 01:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 164
Default

what is the pin number.
i say upgrade the processor to something above 3.0
you will see a huge difference.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3500+
1GB PC3200
ASUS Motherboard
WD 80GB
7900GT 256
goblue14 is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 02:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Looks like u need an upgrade on all 3 of those items...i doubt another 512 is gonna make a huge diff...but you wont know until u try...what socket cpu are you?
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 02:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Sorry, but how would I go about checking my socket CPU?
I wish I knew how to do this before I posted ;p I didn't want people to feel like they accidentally posted into a "tutor the noob!" thread.
Zill is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 02:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Run this:

http://www.majorgeeks.com/downloadge...552939e1c5d14c
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 03:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 13
Default

CPU-Z says ...

--CPU--
Package = mPGA-478
Technology = 0.13 um
Voltage = 1.136
Brand ID = 9
CodeName = Northwood
Family + Ext. = F
Model + Ext. = 2
Step = 9
Revis = D1
Instruct = MMX, SSE, SSE2

--Mainboard--
Model = P4SD-LA
Chipset = i865P/PE/G/i848P
Southbr = 82801EB (ICH5)
Rev = A2
Manufact = ASUSTek
Vers = AGP 3.0



I don't know where exactly to look, so I hope out of those I listed what you asked.
Zill is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 04:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

as far as i can tell it is a socket 478 processor, im not sure tho
also have you considered upgrading the graphics card instead?
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 05:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 13
Default

I updated about 6 months ago from a GeForce FX 5200 to a GeForce 6800. I could try a new card, but I'd like to rule out RAM and Processor before I do that, unless you guys think my card is definitely a big source of the problem.

I believe Oblivion's recommended specs said a 6800 or better, so I don't think my card is the problem. It's my processor that doesn't fit the recommended for games like Oblivion(they recommend a 3.0 or better), but before I get a processor I want to make sure getting more RAM won't do the job just as well.

(see where I'm going? I wanna rule out RAM before I'll get a processor, and rule out processor before I'll get a new GPU)
Zill is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 06:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

what kind of ram do you have? how many chips? etc.. give us all the info, it'll also be on cpu-z..

if its PC3200, i have a good suggestion that'll involve upgrading to a socket 939 board. if its PC2700, then i'd recommend upgrading mobo/cpu/ram ... and socket would depend on budget...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 06:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

if your ram is pc3200, then this is what i would do:

get this mobo and cpu:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157081

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103531

(if there is more room in your budget, do consider getting a dual core cpu, or if your budget is even tighter than this, then there's a good chip for $65)

and if this were an ideal world, you would have 3 memory sticks of 512 PC3200, and when combined with this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146846

you'll have 2gigs running in dual channel ram (50% chance it'll work.. since ram isn't identical..)

you'll be able to use all your existing components... and if your gaming performance is still low, then you'll have to get a new video card...

total: $221

but give us more details on your ram.. hehe.. my advice may become irrelevant..
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.