New Power Supply and RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2008, 12:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
go_sharks86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to go_sharks86
Default New Power Supply and RAM

So I have noticed that I have been getting rather poor fps (30-40) on CSS and have started to believe that the problem may be my power supply.

My PC Specs:
- 350watt psu
- p4 3.0ghz processor
- 256mb 7600gt
- 1 gig of RAM

So my questions is, could my power supply actually be the problem and if so, what power supply would you guys recommend so that I can play CSS at high settings with no problems and at a smooth fps?

My case:
Newegg.com - APEVIA X-Dreamer ATXB3KLW-BK/420W Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case ATX 420W power supply for AMD/Intel Power Supply - Retail

I also want to upgrade from 1 gig of RAM to 2 gigs. Any suggestions are welcome as far as brands go.

My RAM specs (from cpu-z)
Type: DDR
CAS Latency: 3
Max Bandwidth: PC3200 (200 MHz)
Manufacturer: Corsair
Model:CMX512-3200C2
__________________

go_sharks86 is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 11:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 90
Default Re: New Power Supply and RAM

it could indeed be your cpu, but it could be something else. theres a lot of brands of em out there, im using an echo star 600 watt, seems to run my stuff really well. Newegg has some good stuff to, im goin to say you cant fail with patriot or corsair ram. OCZ has good stuff to but their a lil to proud of their product if you ask me, most of the ones ive seen are way overpriced. but yeah check newegg they always have good deals.
__________________

the_patriot2008 is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 12:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: New Power Supply and RAM

hrmm... you use old ddr1, you should probably stick to corsair, look for a matching set, maybe you can run dual channel.. not too sure, depends on your motherboard

but ya, if you don't care about oc'ing or nothing, patriot and corsair are pretty much the way to go... otherwise you could look into some G.Skill ddr500 if it still exists

what resolution do you play counterstrike at? a 7600gt is about as good as a 6800gs.. so depending on your resolution.. and depending if its an HDR map or not.. that may be your determining factor
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 07:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: New Power Supply and RAM

It should be fine , try re-formatting.... BAY AREA FTW !
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 08:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: New Power Supply and RAM

it COULD be your power supply, but if your getting low fps now and you were getting better before it could be some spyware and stuff.... just download avg
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 02:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: New Power Supply and RAM

Which PSU are you using? A quality PSU should run fine. You'll get the most performance by upgrading your video card.
turtile is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 03:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
go_sharks86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to go_sharks86
Default Re: New Power Supply and RAM

- Yes, my RAM is dual channel.
- The resolution I play on is 1440x900 (widescreen monitor).
- I do think a reformat could be a good idea, but I want to get a new psu anyway and feel I should see if that is the problem before I reformat.
- I don't know the brand of the PSU, I believe it came with the case, so it can't be that great of a PSU, all I know is that it has a max output of 350W and has one +12V rail, not sure of the Amps though. I already upgraded my video card from a 6600 to a 7600gt.
go_sharks86 is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 03:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: New Power Supply and RAM

ah... definitely upgarde that psu if you want to upgrade anything.. case psu + high end parts = dead psu!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 03:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
go_sharks86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to go_sharks86
Default Re: New Power Supply and RAM

Can you guys recommend me some power supplies that would fit in my case and would be compatible with my mobo.

Mobo:
http://usa.asus.com/products.aspx?l1...79&modelmenu=1

The brands I am considering are FSP and OCZ.
go_sharks86 is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 05:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: New Power Supply and RAM

fsp is an excellent brand... so is pc power and cooling and silverstone... corsair also makes some nice psu's the corsair 520 is a highly recommend psu on these forums

if you want some cheap stuff.. nothing fancy.. you should look into maybe an antec true power 2 550watt
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Power supply issues - Dell inspiron 531 Yuffles System Upgrades 16 02-17-2008 03:59 PM
grrrr! GTX power supply J9Darkwing New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-31-2007 07:21 AM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
power supply fried javier New Systems | Building and Buying 15 09-09-2007 11:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.