Which new piece of hardware ? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2012, 07:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Which new piece of hardware ?

I will OC my GPU but not my CPU because there is not a lot of point, and it's not a K version anyway. No game comes close to really benefiting a lot from a overclocked CPU. They are nearly all GPU bound these days.

I do max all games pretty much. Just not as smoothly as i'd like. BF3 campaign on highest settings dips down to 25fps for quite a while on some levels which isn't satisfactory. And X-Plane I have to play on medium settings. There is no way I can play that on max.

There are people that upgrade much more often than me on this forum...

edit:

I have a potentially better idea of what to spend the money on. TF's favorite piece of tech! the new iPad
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 08:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Just Epic.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London
Posts: 579
Default Re: Which new piece of hardware ?

I would go for a new monitor, I bought one the other day and I love using it, looks so much better (I was using my tv before). About battlefield, I can handle it maxed, ill check tomorrow what my fps is. 560ti should be able to handle it.

Acer S240HLbid 24 inch Full HD widescreen LCD monitor with LED Backlight (16:9, 100,000,000:1, 1920 x 1080, 5ms, HDMI/DVI) - Black:Amazon:Computers & Accessories


^^ the monitor I bought. Looks pretty nice and two of them will only set you back 280 not 600 (although I don't know if that 'decent' by your standards). It only has 5ms refresh but from what I read there is not much notable difference between 5 and 2 ms.
__________________

Mischa is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 08:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,325
Default Re: Which new piece of hardware ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmanmx View Post
I will OC my GPU but not my CPU because there is not a lot of point, and it's not a K version anyway. No game comes close to really benefiting a lot from a overclocked CPU. They are nearly all GPU bound these days.

I do max all games pretty much. Just not as smoothly as i'd like. BF3 campaign on highest settings dips down to 25fps for quite a while on some levels which isn't satisfactory. And X-Plane I have to play on medium settings. There is no way I can play that on max.

There are people that upgrade much more often than me on this forum...

edit:

I have a potentially better idea of what to spend the money on. TF's favorite piece of tech! the new iPad
I'm really not trying to make it sound like I'm picking on you or anything but you do have a tendency to get things when you don't need them after stating something about finances not too long ago. Maybe I'm a bit conservative in my older age or something, idk.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 04-08-2012, 08:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Which new piece of hardware ?

Well yeah, I know that better than anyone. I tend to buy things.. sell them a few months later.. and buy something else. That way I can try out a lot of cool stuff without actually spending a lot of money, because I get 50 to 80% of it back when I sell it.

Going to another store tommorow to check out some more monitors first though. And then to the apple store to try the new iPad. Then I will weigh up my options.

What can I say.. I like new stuff

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mischa View Post
I would go for a new monitor, I bought one the other day and I love using it, looks so much better (I was using my tv before). About battlefield, I can handle it maxed, ill check tomorrow what my fps is. 560ti should be able to handle it.

Acer S240HLbid 24 inch Full HD widescreen LCD monitor with LED Backlight (16:9, 100,000,000:1, 1920 x 1080, 5ms, HDMI/DVI) - Black:Amazon:Computers & Accessories


^^ the monitor I bought. Looks pretty nice and two of them will only set you back 280 not 600 (although I don't know if that 'decent' by your standards). It only has 5ms refresh but from what I read there is not much notable difference between 5 and 2 ms.
That is a similar spec to my current monitor. I am a man of high standards though.. takes atleast 300 for a 24" screen with a decent image in my books. Maybe I should lower my standards. This TN panel isn't all bad, it does atleast have good blacks and fast response time.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 04:37 AM   #15 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Which new piece of hardware ?

This is the monitor I used,
Dell Ultrasharp LED IPS 23" Monitor U2312HM - Scan.co.uk
I don't really have a lot of experiences with IPS screens, but IMHO the colors were a vast improvement over a TN panel.

it's only an 6 bit panel, compared to the 12 bit Dell U2410. but it is also a lot cheaper


I must be lucky I don't care for AA nor texture mods. I've been playing games on my laptop's poor GT 420M.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 11:36 AM   #16 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Which new piece of hardware ?

I do like the U2410 alot.

Tried to get into my local shopping centre to look at one but holy crap it was mega busy so I gave up after queuing for 20 minutes.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What piece of hardware do I need to replace? copelandtml Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 10-15-2009 09:57 PM
Which piece of Hardware is the problem? Xross Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 07-13-2009 02:04 AM
A piece of hardware im looking for... Dasanator Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 02-26-2009 04:03 PM
Got an old piece of Gigabyte hardware? b1gapl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 10-30-2007 04:24 AM
last piece..and a last Q? Payne99 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-18-2007 07:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.