New PC-Trans. from PC to PC-Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2011, 06:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default New PC-Trans. from PC to PC-Question

Getting new PC next week.After installing W7(believe I will install 64bit),will I be able to use an Ethernet to link both(believe I read somewhere about network/cable/or external drive)towers and use the w7 easy transfer that way?Reason-no special cable or ext. hard drives avail.Thanks.
__________________

KingmanRoss is offline  
Old 07-27-2011, 06:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: New PC-Trans. from PC to PC-Question

You have a router?

If so, yup no problem, though all programs will need to be reinstalled. they can't be transfered.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-27-2011, 06:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Walmart has an easy transfer cable for $17. It operates via USB not the ethernet port.
KSoD is offline  
Old 07-27-2011, 10:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: New PC-Trans. from PC to PC-Question

buy a sata/ide cable for 3 bucks and plug in your old hard drive into your new computer.

or this and use your old hard drive as an external drive
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 07-28-2011, 07:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default Re: New PC-Trans. from PC to PC-Question

Yes,I do have a wireless router.I am hardwired,my friend(roommate)is wireless.I will trans.my stuff to my new PC,he gets my old tower,I trans. his stuff to my old tower and his old tower will be used as a business PC.If that sounds confusing,lol,welllll,I ain't awake yet as I am writing this.Router is in his room.Ethernet cable goes from mine to router,he is wireless.On that note,I will stop so I do not get really confused,lol.Hey,thanks for the replies.Appreciate it.Yes,it woulda been easier if we could afford the cables,but,monies are short and I know on the re-installs.One last note-My new tower,should I go with (have w7 ultimate)64bit,or stick with 32bit install,as is what I am using at the moment??O,both PC's are W7 Ultimate.O,just found out we will get another Eathernet cable for his,so,we will both be wired,no more wireless.But,either use the wireless router,or,go back to using the hub we had before we got the router.Router is newer,so may stay with that,,Cable modem>wireless router>Eatherneted to both PC's.Oh,we both have to set out PC,s to share,correct???
KingmanRoss is offline  
Old 07-28-2011, 10:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: New PC-Trans. from PC to PC-Question

Nah, you'll be quite fine with a router, just share the entire c drive.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-28-2011, 02:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default Re: New PC-Trans. from PC to PC-Question

Ok,thanks.Have not decided on installing w7 64 or 32,???

Biostar N68S+ DiabloTek Barebones Kit - Biostar N68S+ Mobo, AMD Athlon X2 7750 CPU, CPU Fan, Crucial 2GB DDR2 RAM, Seagate Seagate 1TB HDD, 24x DVDRW, DiabloTek ATX Mid-Tower Case, 400W Power Supply N68S+ Bundle at TigerDirect

Biostar N68S+ DiabloTek Barebones Kit - Biostar N68S+ Mobo, AMD Athlon X2 7750 CPU, CPU Fan, Crucial 2GB DDR2 RAM, Seagate Seagate 1TB HDD, 24x DVDRW, DiabloTek ATX Mid-Tower Case, 400W Power Supply
KingmanRoss is offline  
Old 07-28-2011, 02:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: New PC-Trans. from PC to PC-Question

thats an older computer that only has 2 Gb of memory, so it doesnt really matter. im not sure what tangible benefits you would see.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 07-28-2011, 06:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: New PC-Trans. from PC to PC-Question

If you edver plan on a ram upgrade, go 64
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 02:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default Re: New PC-Trans. from PC to PC-Question

Ok,here is dummy question-This tower now has 2g DDR2/400mhz/single.Should I NOT add it to the new tower,as it is coming with 2g 800mhz/duel ????If I did that,it would only run at the 400,not the 800,correct?
__________________

KingmanRoss is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Symbian S60v5 question video recorder question(Vivaz) marcoax Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 03-07-2011 05:52 PM
gentouch78 tablet question (warning noob question) tomc102968 Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 3 11-23-2010 01:13 PM
Trans TaskBar Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 10-07-2009 12:04 AM
Trans Flash And Micro Sd STUPID GEEK Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 07-12-2006 04:50 AM
Trans Am v Nitros Goped (I kid you not !) drworm2005 Off Topic Discussion 3 05-29-2005 12:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.