new pc problem.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2005, 11:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 153
Default new pc problem....

ok here goes.....im building a new pc for a friend.
Specs:
M851 mobo with built in graphics
AMD athlon 1900+ low voltage proc
256meg pc2100 ram

when i fit it all together, the screen stays blank when i turn it on but after about 5 seconds it turns off and you have to unplug at the wall before you can start it again. Ive changed the power supply and the processor..........wat could be wrong?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
6GB OCZ Platinum PC2-6400
Asus M2N32-SLI PREMIUM
Nvidia 9800GTX+
Nvidia 9800GTX+
duncan9562 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 01:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to megabyte800
Default

Check your HD and motherboard jumpers.

Maybe your IDE connector(s) is faulty?
__________________

megabyte800 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 02:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 153
Default

ok ive checked all the mobo jumpers, and after taking the cpu out and putting it back in the rig now starts and keeps running yet i still get a blank screen........
__________________
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
6GB OCZ Platinum PC2-6400
Asus M2N32-SLI PREMIUM
Nvidia 9800GTX+
Nvidia 9800GTX+
duncan9562 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 12:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to trigger_sad
Default

Hmm, basically you can't get it to post. Check the motherboard mounting posts, make sure there isn't one too much somewhere (it may be shortening out the mobo), i did that one time by accident, lol. And then basically just check everything else, disconnect all of the devices. Just have the CPU and ram in the motherboard and try turning it on that way, check if it'll post that way. If it won't (and u checked the mobo posts), you either have faulty CPu or ram or mobo for that matter, so then i personally would check the CPU and ram in another system (if u have one available). (also do u get any post sound beeps?) Thats all i can say for now, i hope it works out for u.
trigger_sad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.