New OS install boot issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2006, 03:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default New OS install boot issues

I got a computer from work for free (they were throwing them out).

It's an NEC PowerMate 2000, P3-800.

I purchased a new HDD and XP Home. I kept getting a boot error

PXE-E61: Media test failure, check cable
Intel UNDI, PXE-2.0 (build 071)

For Accton EN1207D/EN2242A Series PCI Fast Ethernet Controller


Searching the web resulted in finding out that the PC is trying to boot from the network first, regardless of the boot order I set in BIOS.
(I assume because the PC was accessible by the public, the administrator restricted access to pretty much everything except web browsing, hence why I purchased a new HDD hoping it would solve the problem.)

I've been unable to even disable the network boot option either. The option isnt there, just the order of boot sequence.

I hope I havent wasted $200....please help.
__________________

adadk is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default

The error messages indicate that your computer is attempting to do a network boot rather than to boot from your HDD or CD.

There is usually a setting in your BIOS where you can indicate that you wish to do a NIC boot (not PXE).

Can you check that this is set correctly for NIC(no PXE).

An NIC boot will boot from the selected list of bootable devices that you have specified in the BIOS.

I would make sure that you have your HDD specified either first in the list, or second after your CD if you prefer to have the CD option automatically available.
__________________

Dragonbssj is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 04:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

even better... remove the battery from the mobo for about 20 minutes with no juice... tat should reset the thing to it's defaults. from there you should be able to go in and change anything you want.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 06:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default

found the jumper to clear CMOS. Removed the battery and let the system sit for half an hour. I was able to reset the Supervisor password.

System sits on black screen when continuing boot mode. nothing happens.

Put the original HDD back in, on boot up it worked, starting up the programs the system was designed for. However, some program access still prompts for admin password, which is not what I set Supervisor pw to in the BIOS.

System originally loaded with Win 2000 Professional. Perhaps there are security settings in place that would prevent me from installing a new HDD and loading a new OS?
adadk is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 06:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

make sur eyou have the bios set to CD/dvd drive as first boot... put your OS disk in and see wat happens from there... it should see it even before the bios kicks in.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 06:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Already tried boot sequence.

1. ATAPI CDROM
2. HDD
3. Removable devices
4. Network boot

Doesn't matter what order they go in, the system is not booting up from the XP disc in the drive.
adadk is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 07:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

[stupid I know] did you reset the bios for "safe" defaults? not the optimized... the only thing I can think of is you missed something... resetting the bios should... SHOULD have reverted back to a "new" system... I'm at a lose after that... sorry man...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.