New Opteron Processor came in, but... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2006, 12:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 125
Default New Opteron Processor came in, but...

So my new computer parts came in.
But when I opened the Opteron 165 box, the processor was all moved around (not secured) and the green boxing material inside was smashed to pieces. But there is no external damage to the box...

So should I just go ahead and install it, etc... or should i just send it back to be on the safe side?
__________________

OneArmedScissor is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 12:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

There should be a line in the terms saying if anything is damaged do not sign for it, and doing so will be you accepting the goods, go ahead with the install. Processors are very rarely DOA.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

no harm in giving it a try.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

same thing happened to me kinda, just got my amd 3200+ venice today(hours ago) and it has alot of dust and glue chips under the little see through plastic and the chip is off centered in the box
like ryan said, doesnt hurt to try
__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.