New and Need Help - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2014, 11:25 PM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: New and Need Help

I'm not sure what exactly that is, will have to do a little research, might be something HP had added for some reason, Dell had one line of systems that the mainMB plug was wired differently and people started burning out there system trying to upgrade the PS, Well Dell did it so you'll need to go direct to them to upgrade but all it did was make a LOT of people avoid Dell for that reason. I'll do ALittle searching and see if I can find out what that is for.
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 11:29 PM   #32 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: flordia
Posts: 32
Default Re: New and Need Help

Okay thank you. Get back to me when you can. Thanks!
__________________

Bobguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 11:40 PM   #33 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: New and Need Help

Are you sure that plug iOS wired to the PS, I don't see it on the HP site even, Might be zip tied together with the PS but goes elseware. Here is the site showing the MB layout.
HP Support document - HP Support Center
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 11:46 PM   #34 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: flordia
Posts: 32
Default Re: New and Need Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
Are you sure that plug iOS wired to the PS, I don't see it on the HP site even, Might be zip tied together with the PS but goes elseware. Here is the site showing the MB layout.
HP Support document - HP Support Center
Im sure! When i tried to power up my computer with a different PS it didnt even turn on. we took it back to ask for help and 2 of the people in the computer department said that hp added it for some reason. and said it needed a plug for it to work.
Bobguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 11:53 PM   #35 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: New and Need Help

I can't even really tell what it is with that angle.

Also Dauntae, that's the correct spect. The top slot is positioned just below the HDD cage so it has clearance all the way to the front of the case. Might be an issue with the back plate of the 980, but the white slot is a 16x too.

If you're worried about it that much you can always get a new board, CPU, RAM, and case with the remaining 300 bucks of your budget easily. Or you could reuse your CPU, doesn't matter much.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 11:55 PM   #36 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: flordia
Posts: 32
Default Re: New and Need Help

i dont even think i can get a new power supply. I guess there is no 6 pin on a power supply.
Bobguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 12:01 AM   #37 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: New and Need Help

I just found an upclose of the motherboard. Yea, wonky proprietary ******** right there. Like seriously, this is bottom line why we tell people not to get prebuilt. Getting a new motherboard to drop your parts in will alleviate this issue.

ASRock B75 PRO3-M LGA 1155 Intel B75 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg.com

Edit: In case anybody else wants to see how stupid this is, check it out for yourself.

http://i01.i.aliimg.com/img/pb/330/0...045330_787.JPG
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 12:04 AM   #38 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: flordia
Posts: 32
Default Re: New and Need Help

So just to be clear i get the MB GPU and Power supply and mroe RAM? that all i should need? And could you link me to get more RAM?
Bobguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 12:11 AM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: New and Need Help

Are you sure that plug is wired to the PS, I don't see it on the HP site even, Might be zip tied together with the PS but goes elseware. Here is the site showing the MB layout.
HP Support document - HP Support Center
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 12:14 AM   #40 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: flordia
Posts: 32
Default Re: New and Need Help

Yes im sure.
__________________

Bobguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help!!! So confused and I need some advice on SLI vs Crossfire and Intel vs AMD. Jpikus New Systems | Building and Buying 9 03-01-2011 06:56 PM
possible new build need need comments and suggestions mikee System Upgrades 26 07-25-2007 01:50 PM
need ur help kinda small PSU and need a GPU AMD6415 System Upgrades 7 05-20-2007 04:30 AM
I need a router and adapter card but I dont know which is good to get. I need help. Saint71 System Upgrades 3 06-24-2006 01:07 AM
Help Help Help Help Help Help Asap ITZBVAN005 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 12-12-2005 02:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.