New and Need Help - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2014, 09:38 PM   #21 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: New and Need Help

Sorry, had to fix my barber's printer.

Yea I would say get yourself one of these.
SeaSonic G Series SSR-550RM 550W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com

And a GTX 980 when they come in stock. An eVGA card.

HP site says 445mm and a 980 is half that. I'd be willing to bet it would fit.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 09:46 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: New and Need Help

They have the ASUS GTX980 reference card in right now
ASUS GTX980-4GD5 GeForce GTX 980 4GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 HDCP Ready SLI Support G-SYNC Support Video Card - Newegg.com
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 09:53 PM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: New and Need Help

Honestly, I'd rather have the PNY.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 10:02 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: flordia
Posts: 32
Default Re: New and Need Help

And i wouldn't need to get a new motherboard or anything?
Bobguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 10:04 PM   #25 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: New and Need Help

Since you're already using an Nvidia GPU, I'd say no. Only other thing I'd do is upgrade your RAM.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 10:14 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: New and Need Help

PP I think you might have the wrong spec for clearance, 445mm is over 17 inches, That might be the length of the case, He better measure before ordering which ever card he gets.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 10:17 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: flordia
Posts: 32
Default Re: New and Need Help

Okay but if one of you could do me one more favor. Inside there is a special kind of plug that the power supply needs. i tried to buy one before but it wouldn't work. if one of you could try and look into that that would be great. And thank so much for the help by the way! Im not sure what kind it was i think it was like a 6 pin or 4 pin something like that. Not sure though
Bobguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 10:25 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: New and Need Help

What was it plugged into? There is either a 4 or 8 pin connecter next to the CPU to power the CPU but other than that I'm not sure what it could be, Most if not all power supplies come with the 8 pin now and if yours is a 4 pin you just use half of the plug, It's actually split into two 4 pin plugs just for that reason. If you could get a pic of the plug even with your phone we could identify it.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 11:09 PM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: flordia
Posts: 32
Default Re: New and Need Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
What was it plugged into? There is either a 4 or 8 pin connecter next to the CPU to power the CPU but other than that I'm not sure what it could be, Most if not all power supplies come with the 8 pin now and if yours is a 4 pin you just use half of the plug, It's actually split into two 4 pin plugs just for that reason. If you could get a pic of the plug even with your phone we could identify it.
After looking at it again i saw it has 6 pins. i remember someone told me that this is a older type of computer or something and i needed a 6 pin for it to work. I dont know if he was right but thats what he said.
Bobguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 11:15 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: flordia
Posts: 32
Default Re: New and Need Help

imgur: the simple image sharer found a picture of it.
__________________

Bobguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help!!! So confused and I need some advice on SLI vs Crossfire and Intel vs AMD. Jpikus New Systems | Building and Buying 9 03-01-2011 06:56 PM
possible new build need need comments and suggestions mikee System Upgrades 26 07-25-2007 01:50 PM
need ur help kinda small PSU and need a GPU AMD6415 System Upgrades 7 05-20-2007 04:30 AM
I need a router and adapter card but I dont know which is good to get. I need help. Saint71 System Upgrades 3 06-24-2006 01:07 AM
Help Help Help Help Help Help Asap ITZBVAN005 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 12-12-2005 02:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.