New Motherboard and Processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2006, 12:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Default New Motherboard and Processor

I installed a new motherboard and processor, and now the computer will not power up. I have tried the power switch connector every possible way with no success. The only things hooked up are the CPU and RAM, no expansion cards. Any ideas?
__________________

viper_bite_19 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 01:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Do you hear any beeps from the motherboard? Do the fans and hard drive spool up? Check all connections, then check your CPU. I had this problem, and found out that 3 of my CPU pins were bent.
__________________

__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 01:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Default

There are no beeps, no indication of power at all. It does not appear that any of the CPU pins are bent.
viper_bite_19 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 02:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Is this an AMD or Intel system?

There should be two power plugs comming from your PSU, a 24 or 20 pin and a smaller 4 pin. Is the 4-pin plugged in?
__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 02:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Default

It is an AMD System. Both of the connectors are plugged in.
viper_bite_19 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 02:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Check the switch on the back of the PSU.

I know these seem like small things, but those are the things you'll overlook if you're in a hurry or not thinking.

Try another wall outlet. If neither of those two things work, check the motherboard over, see if there are any loose parts or burn marks. You may have to return the motherboard if there's something wrong with the electronics.
__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 02:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Default

I think I've covered all the basis. I checked the switch on the PSU and tried multiple outlets already. The PSU works in another computer. Looks like a return. Thanks for all your help.
__________________

viper_bite_19 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.