New motherboard and potential OS problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2010, 11:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default New motherboard and potential OS problem?

I currently have an OEM version of Windows Vista Home Edition, I have the reinstall disc but if i buy a new motherboard will Vista see it as a different computer and not let me install?
__________________

GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 08-01-2010, 11:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: New motherboard and potential OS problem?

You'll be able install Vista on the new 'computer' (Windows assumes different motherboard = different computer), but you won't be able to use the same key, so you won't be able to reactivate it (at least, not without phoning them up, but I don't think we're allowed to support you in doing that :P)
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-04-2010, 01:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: New motherboard and potential OS problem?

So I can install it but what happens if I cannot activate it? Am I not allowed to get updates and support? Will windows still work?
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 08-04-2010, 05:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: New motherboard and potential OS problem?

If it's not activated, you can use it perfectly for 30 days, you still get updates, but it keeps bugging you that it's not activated. In Windows 7 you can extend the 30 days to 120, but I don't know about Vista.
But again, there is a way around it. Google 'Vista phone activation' or something.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem finding proper sized aftermarket CPU Cooler... the b man System Upgrades 7 05-11-2010 08:30 PM
Potential CPU Upgrade yzmxer608 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-15-2009 06:20 PM
Unusual boot problem with self-built computer N-TWO-O Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 09-16-2008 09:42 AM
Potential Purchase... Quick Question... myowngod New Systems | Building and Buying 16 07-13-2008 01:17 AM
Potential Video Card Problem? mavrick3020 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 05-05-2007 08:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.