New Motherboard and Graphics card performance - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2005, 09:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default New Motherboard and Graphics card performance

hi,
i currently have an Intel 3.0ghz prescott cpu with, 2x 512mb ram (dual channel), Gigabyte 8ipe775-Pro motherboard (865 chipset) , and a Leadtek Winfast A6600GT- TDH 128mb AGP 8x. i was jus wondering if upgrading to a gigabyte 8i915p Pro motherboard with a more current chipset and PCI-Express, and a Leadtek Winfast PX6600GT TDH Extreme 128mb would improve the performance of my computer much?

thanx
__________________

vindicatedheart is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 11:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

No point really, you're basically paying so that you have the option of PCI-E cards in the future
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 09:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

so there wont be any changes in the system performance at all?
vindicatedheart is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 10:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Most likely not.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 02:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

ok cool, so its probly best if i wait till games start getting too much for my graphics card, then make the switch and get a better graphics card?
vindicatedheart is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 10:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

exactly.
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 10:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

definitely. save your money for a rainy day.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.