New Monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2008, 02:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 62
Send a message via MSN to countrydude
Default New Monitor

Hey im looking to get a new monitor. What would you suggest to be a good quality 24 inch monitor for a cheap price? I found this guy at NewEgg. What do you think?

Westinghouse L2410NM
__________________

__________________
My Personal Site CraigSite.ca
My current specs
-Power Color HD 4850 512MB
-MSI K8N platinum SLI Mobo
-2x1GB Generic DDR RAM
-250GB OS, 1TB Raid-Z, 1TB Backup
-Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Socket 939 oc'ed to 2.8Ghz
countrydude is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: New Monitor

tthe reulution and response time is a little low, i would go with the 226bw, i know is 2 inches smaller but u will like it better.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 62
Send a message via MSN to countrydude
Default Re: New Monitor

thanks for the reply. That does look like a good monitor. Maybe I can live without 2 inches. Ill see.
__________________
My Personal Site CraigSite.ca
My current specs
-Power Color HD 4850 512MB
-MSI K8N platinum SLI Mobo
-2x1GB Generic DDR RAM
-250GB OS, 1TB Raid-Z, 1TB Backup
-Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Socket 939 oc'ed to 2.8Ghz
countrydude is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 10:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: New Monitor

What about this one?

Newegg.com - Open Box: BenQ FP241W Black 24" 6ms(GTG) DVI Widescreen HDMI LCD Monitor 500 cd/m2 1000:1
Ambra is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 10:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: New Monitor

well for one he lives in canada and canot order for newegg and that monitor has the same resulution as the one he was looking at. i own the 226bw, its a great monitor, get and u will not be disapointed.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 11:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: New Monitor

this one is $100 cheaper

NCIX.com - Buy Acer X243WBD Black 24IN Widescreen LCD Monitor 1920X1200 2000:1 5MS VGA DVI HDCP - ET.FX3WP.001 In Canada.
mgcook is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 11:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: New Monitor

that monitor is still 1920x1200 res, well if ur gaming u will want higher, but if u arn't then get the one mgcook posted.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 11:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: New Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
that monitor is still 1920x1200 res, well if ur gaming u will want higher, but if u arn't then get the one mgcook posted.
what's a good gaming monitor? and by the way, wouldn't 1920x1200 resolution make everything really tiny?
Ambra is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 11:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: New Monitor

24" monitors use 1920x1200 standard

20-22" use 1680x1050

30" uses 2560x1600
mgcook is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 12:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: New Monitor

man im off latly, i was thinkin that a 24 was 2560x1600 yet i know that they are standard 1920x1200, duh..sorry about that, i still think u should get the 226bw anyway though.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No boot power turns on but no signal in monitor ekw808 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-05-2008 12:01 PM
My monitor with the xbox 360 dwaynesox Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 10-16-2007 11:32 PM
Confusion With a Monitor khan008 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-08-2007 06:51 AM
Dual Monitor Issue Ultra Steel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 08:03 AM
Looking for a new Computer Monitor ? Try this one.. Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-07-2007 09:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.