New MOBO needed for Intel Core2 Quad Processor Q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2009, 09:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 68
Default New MOBO needed for Intel Core2 Quad Processor Q6600

for ATX case. I am not sure what to look for.
here the processor inf:
?Core 2 Quad Q660

old mobo is this
MOBO

but I wanna switch to a ATX mobo

want to be able to reuse the memory , which is:
1024 MB PC5300 DDR2 667MHz SDRAM [ x 4]

oh and his graphic card is the 4890, that'll need to fit too

ok, here's what I found:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131348
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128358

do they work with the memory? he does have DDR2, but its PC5300 DDR2 667MHz SDRAM

Don't want to spend a fortune. I am already spending way too much money on this.
THANKS! You guys been really so helpful...I know I am a pain the behind.
__________________

MenschX is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 10:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: New MOBO needed for Intel Core2 Quad Processor Q6600

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 10:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 68
Default Re: New MOBO needed for Intel Core2 Quad Processor Q6600

will it take the memory?
PC5300 DDR2 667MHz SDRAM

THANKS
MenschX is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 11:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: New MOBO needed for Intel Core2 Quad Processor Q6600

It should. It will only run the RAM at the speed of the RAM (which is low).
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 02:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: New MOBO needed for Intel Core2 Quad Processor Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
It should. It will only run the RAM at the speed of the RAM (which is low).
I do agree, it is slower ram. The motherboard does support running ram at 667mhz, according to ASUS' site.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 02:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: New MOBO needed for Intel Core2 Quad Processor Q6600

how about ASUS P5QL-E
abudalow is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 08:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 68
Default

thank you everyone! My kid will be thrilled. For him it'll be almost like a new computer.
I just got the antec 900 and realized that that stupid gateway mobo is a BTX. LOL so that's why I needed the new mobo. I am learning...

one more question...so if the memory isn't an issue...this one would work too?
Newegg.com - MSI P45 Platinum LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

I am thinking that he would want a second graphic card within the year...so MAYBE 2 PCI express slots would be nice to have. also.. he got another cheap card he could use as a physic card.

Not really all necessary...especially because this is an older processor...but would nice I guess.

never mind fbs is different. i think i'll go with the gigabyte. looks like the asus has some sata issues.
[if i can believe the newegg reviews] I am just gonna forget about the second PCI.
MenschX is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 03:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: New MOBO needed for Intel Core2 Quad Processor Q6600

Quote:
Memory

1. 4 x 1.8V DDR2 DIMM sockets supporting up to 16 GB of system memory
2. Dual channel memory architecture
3. Support for DDR2 1200+/1066/800/667 MHz memory modules
The Gigabyte board will support 667MHz RAM. SLI/Crossfire is not all it is cracked up to be. You will get better performance out of a single, more powerful card.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-06-2009, 11:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SC
Posts: 68
Default Re: New MOBO needed for Intel Core2 Quad Processor Q6600

Thank you!!!! I chose Gigabyte. Came today...it's done. He's happy...and I got my computer back. Thanks god I had no problems with the re-activation of windows 7.
__________________

MenschX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI 9200SE vs. Linux... 95BlackGA Linux and Open Source 8 10-19-2008 01:05 AM
CASE and PSU NEEDED!! Please Check It out~~!~ Twalker323 New Systems | Building and Buying 19 10-03-2008 02:46 PM
Advice Needed for Mobo choice dave39 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-23-2007 03:27 PM
Mobo Help Needed ... AhBeng Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 07-22-2007 12:31 PM
Memory or Mobo help needed cbo0485 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-30-2007 11:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.