New mobo and CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2010, 08:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
macraigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 119
Post New mobo and CPU

Newegg.com - Foxconn A76ML-K AM3 Ready / AM2+ / AM2 AMD 760G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

Which one is better, any thoughts? I just did a quick search in the free shipping section of new egg I'm looking for something that's compatible with THIS processor.

I have 4 sticks of DDR2 RAM which I could part with 1 or 2 sticks so I don't NEED 4 memory slots on the mobo.

Of course if there is a better motherboard/CPU out there please let me know, Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Nettle3 mobo
AMD Phenom(tm) 9750 Quad-Core Processor
8 GB (4x 2GB) DDR2 Hynix ram @400MHz
ATI Radeon HD 3650 512mb

http://macraigma.blogspot.com/
macraigma is offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 08:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: New mobo and CPU

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon II X3 425 Rana 2.7GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Get that CPU and overclock it to make up the difference.
Save the $10

Newegg.com - Foxconn A76ML-K AM3 Ready / AM2+ / AM2 AMD 760G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
Also I'd pick that one, because it's cheaper, and will accomplish about the same things for you.
Though...
I own two Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H motherboards.
They're nice.
I'm not going to lie, they're awesome.

But you only need to get it if you want those extra RAM slots, as that's pretty much the only difference.
__________________

__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 08:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
macraigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 119
Default Re: New mobo and CPU

I was hoping you would respond as I have seen in multiple posts you've made that you know what you're talking about I think I'll go with the cheapest option than. Thanks again!
__________________
Nettle3 mobo
AMD Phenom(tm) 9750 Quad-Core Processor
8 GB (4x 2GB) DDR2 Hynix ram @400MHz
ATI Radeon HD 3650 512mb

http://macraigma.blogspot.com/
macraigma is offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 09:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: New mobo and CPU

Well I want to mention that the Foxconn board doesn't have ACC from what I've read, even though it has the proper southbridge.
So if you're looking to unlock a core on your Athlon II X3, it's not going to happen with that Foxconn board.

If you're looking to unlock cores, you should go with this board probably.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-408-_-Product

for only about $3 more than that Foxconn
(Shipping's only $2.99)

It also has a $10 rebate if you want to try and do that.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 09:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
macraigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 119
Default Re: New mobo and CPU

^ Noted - I haven't made any final decisions yet, gotta talk to the boss (AKA wife)
__________________
Nettle3 mobo
AMD Phenom(tm) 9750 Quad-Core Processor
8 GB (4x 2GB) DDR2 Hynix ram @400MHz
ATI Radeon HD 3650 512mb

http://macraigma.blogspot.com/
macraigma is offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 09:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: New mobo and CPU

Well, if you wait long enough I might have an Athlon II X3 up for sale next week ;p
And I'll go ahead and check to see if it's an unlocker/overclocker and everything.
So you'd know what you were getting exactly.
I just bought a couple Athlon II X3's on ebay the other day, one's a native Propus core, but the other is a native Deneb core.
Either way I'll either have a couple Athlon II X3's for sale next week, or a Phenom II X2 550.
And for the price I got them for on ebay, I'd be able to sell much cheaper than Newegg's prices.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 10:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
macraigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 119
Default Re: New mobo and CPU

That all sounds promising Keep me informed please
__________________
Nettle3 mobo
AMD Phenom(tm) 9750 Quad-Core Processor
8 GB (4x 2GB) DDR2 Hynix ram @400MHz
ATI Radeon HD 3650 512mb

http://macraigma.blogspot.com/
macraigma is offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 11:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: New mobo and CPU

Also, if I were you, I would sell off that DDR2 RAM, invest in DDR3 and just switch over to an AM3 mobo anyway.

Selling 8Gb of DDR2 could easily get you 4Gb of DDR3 RAM with extra money leftover.
Perhaps you could do a full upgrade if you balance your budget out properly, and get a new GPU as well.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 11:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
macraigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 119
Default Re: New mobo and CPU

That's not a bad Idea - I haven't used my ebay account in years haha, maybe ill post on craigslist even. I'll check out what others are selling it for first.
__________________
Nettle3 mobo
AMD Phenom(tm) 9750 Quad-Core Processor
8 GB (4x 2GB) DDR2 Hynix ram @400MHz
ATI Radeon HD 3650 512mb

http://macraigma.blogspot.com/
macraigma is offline  
Old 04-02-2010, 12:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
macraigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 119
Default Re: New mobo and CPU

whats a good brand of DDR3 memory? im looking for 4 gigs total, 2x2
__________________

__________________
Nettle3 mobo
AMD Phenom(tm) 9750 Quad-Core Processor
8 GB (4x 2GB) DDR2 Hynix ram @400MHz
ATI Radeon HD 3650 512mb

http://macraigma.blogspot.com/
macraigma is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Here ye Here ye I need a cpu cooling solution but more importantly your advice Kyrone Overclocking and Modding 8 07-18-2009 12:13 AM
Is it mobo or cpu? Crazy658 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-09-2008 05:07 AM
I think I cooked my cpu and mobo jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-03-2008 09:18 PM
Need new mobo and/or CPU dude112 System Upgrades 2 08-17-2008 12:03 PM
new mobo or cpu or both... Dainius New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-19-2008 10:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.