New Memory, New Graphics - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2008, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Default New Memory, New Graphics

I was thinking about upgrading my RAM sticks and my graphics card but I'm not sure if the new ones I picked out works with my computer. If I can get any help. Thanks.

My computer:
Intel(R)
Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz
512 of RAM

My graphic card:
GeForce 4 MX 440 with AGP8X 64 MB

for RAM I picked out:
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

and for graphic card I picked out:
ASUS N7600GS SILENT/HTD/256M GeForce 7600GS 256MB 128-bit GDDR2 AGP 4X/8X Video Card
Newegg.com - ASUS N7600GS SILENT/HTD/256M GeForce 7600GS 256MB 128-bit GDDR2 AGP 4X/8X Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Do these two work with my computer?
__________________

jjung is offline  
Old 06-18-2008, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: New Memory, New Graphics

The ram probably will not work, I think you need ddr ram.
Video card should work.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 06-18-2008, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: New Memory, New Graphics

What about this one?
CORSAIR ValueSelect 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - CORSAIR ValueSelect 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

btw, What does 184-Pin and PC 3200 mean?
jjung is offline  
Old 06-18-2008, 05:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Memory, New Graphics

184pin is the Socket it goes into, PC 3200 is the speed, before you buy the RAM, figure out if you're on 184pin or 240pin otherwise don't buy the RAM
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-18-2008, 06:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: New Memory, New Graphics

This video card is close to the same price as the one you selected but is faster.

Newegg.com - POWERCOLOR AG3650 512MD2 Radeon HD 3650 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 AGP 4X/8X HDCP Ready Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 06-18-2008, 07:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: New Memory, New Graphics

How do you find out if you're 184pin or 240pin?
jjung is offline  
Old 06-18-2008, 07:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Memory, New Graphics

RUN CPU-Z (google it) and check the Mainboard tab
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 01:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: New Memory, New Graphics

I ran CPU-Z but it doesn't say anything about 184pin or 240pin in the Mainboard tab.

Thanks PuddleJumper, but how can you tell the difference?
jjung is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 01:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: New Memory, New Graphics

You could go to Crucial.com and run their little Scan My System program, but you can only run the scanner in Internet Explorer. It will tell you what types of RAM you have/need.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 03:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Memory, New Graphics

It works with Firefox 3 and IE Tab
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
Motherboard/ Memory Read Error Pezzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-02-2008 09:40 PM
Graphics Card: Memory Compatability mattxq86 System Upgrades 8 03-06-2008 05:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.