New here and need some help on a few things - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2006, 11:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default New here and need some help on a few things

Hey everyone, i finally bought myself a newer system then my old k6 450 I use to be into computers 3 years back but a teenager with no money = no good computer... now i am 23 with money and i finally jumped on a good deal from a buddy and got a newer pc...cost 150 bucks

It has a shuttle an65 ultra mobo
amd 2600+ running at 1.92ghz
1gb of pc3200 ram
asus geforce 6200 with 256mb ram
a small 20gig hard drive
520w power supply
3 80mm case fans
LG cd burner along with a benq dvd burner

Well i wanted to look into upgrading the video card, what do you recommend to get more out of games??

Also i had questions to ask about the bios, in the bios i change the fsb and all there are also settings for like cpu settings and there is optimal, agressive and expert, now do going from optimal to agressive do anything? Same for the ram, does it make a difference going from optimal to agressive?

MY old pc never had these bios options and been out of the loop for ages so, if anyone can offer me some help on my bios, vid card upgrades and maybe overclocking my cpu, it will all be much appreciated...
__________________

kool_ranger is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 09:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

you can get a 6600 for gaming. if you're on a budget. are you using AGP?
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 10:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Yes, i am using agp.... I was thinking about overlocking the board but it seems not to wanna go any higher really then it is now...

It's an asus 6200 geforce with a stock heatsink....
kool_ranger is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.