new HDD installation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2007, 05:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default new HDD installation

HI

I am looking to install a new HDD drive onto my computer. The first thing i did was look if I had any available space, I looked in, and found that the 3 IDE plugs are all filled on the motherboard. I was dismayed when I saw this, but then i saw somewhere that you can have to things per IDE connector? is this true? and if not, I was thinking of taking out my floppy drive that I have never used, would this be a good idea.
thanks for the help[



-sewercake
__________________

Sewercake is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 07:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

EIDE uses two per cable (you should have it). The floppy drive uses a FDD cable which will not work with a hard drive.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 07:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default

What is a EDIE cable, what do they look like? Im sorta new at this stuff.
Sewercake is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Nappe.svg
turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.