New HDD / Diagnosing PC trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2006, 11:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default New HDD / Diagnosing PC trouble

Hey
rightt... Had this pc for 3ish years..
When I turn on my PC all the lights come on apart from a green light which indicates my PC is on.
Or sometimes everything comes on [even the green light] but nothing appears on my monitor [even though it's plugged in etc]

I'm on a packard bell 5116 Imedia SE pc..
Someone mentioned to me it could be my lousy old 80 gb western gate HDD which I've had for 3 years or it could be my processor getting old..

I know it couldn't be my PSU because I've checked them and they're fine, I've also cleaned the inside of my PC of dust etc.

Whatever the problem is.. if it is my lousy HDD, I'll post some links to some HDDS I've found I could purchase.
If anyone needs any info..

Thanks
__________________

Willeh is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 03:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

__________________

Willeh is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 04:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Have you checked to make sure everything was connected all the way? Something might have slipped loose. Other than that, I think you have it about right... I can't think of anything else that might cause that? Most hard drives are pretty cheap no-a-days, but do you have the OS and all the disks to go with the machine? That might be an issue if you bought it as a complete PC...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

I bought the pc as a set with monitor, printer etc etc 3 years ago with the 80 gb thingy included so the PC was custom built.. I guess the harddrive has reached malfunction and needs a replacement..

I'm on an Intel Pent 4 processor.. could that be the problem aswell? / (too?)
Willeh is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 08:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Could you lend a hard drive from someone to test that its the problem. If its not posting to the monitor could be your graphics card, or even your monitor.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.