New HDD / Diagnosing PC trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2006, 10:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default New HDD / Diagnosing PC trouble

rightt... Had this pc for 3ish years..
When I turn on my PC all the lights come on apart from a green light which indicates my PC is on.
Or sometimes everything comes on [even the green light] but nothing appears on my monitor [even though it's plugged in etc]

I'm on a packard bell 5116 Imedia SE pc..
Someone mentioned to me it could be my lousy old 80 gb western gate HDD which I've had for 3 years or it could be my processor getting old..

I know it couldn't be my PSU because I've checked them and they're fine, I've also cleaned the inside of my PC of dust etc.

Whatever the problem is.. if it is my lousy HDD, I'll post some links to some HDDS I've found I could purchase.
If anyone needs any info..


Willeh is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 02:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266


Willeh is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 03:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

Have you checked to make sure everything was connected all the way? Something might have slipped loose. Other than that, I think you have it about right... I can't think of anything else that might cause that? Most hard drives are pretty cheap no-a-days, but do you have the OS and all the disks to go with the machine? That might be an issue if you bought it as a complete PC...

Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 03:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266

I bought the pc as a set with monitor, printer etc etc 3 years ago with the 80 gb thingy included so the PC was custom built.. I guess the harddrive has reached malfunction and needs a replacement..

I'm on an Intel Pent 4 processor.. could that be the problem aswell? / (too?)
Willeh is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 07:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
baronvongogo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756

Could you lend a hard drive from someone to test that its the problem. If its not posting to the monitor could be your graphics card, or even your monitor.
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.