New Hard Drive! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2013, 05:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 35
Default New Hard Drive!

I'm looking for a new badass HDD. I prefer a Terabyte. Maybe around 120.
__________________

MichaelH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: New Hard Drive!

Seagate 7200RPM or Western Digital Black. Bout your only real options there.

Just as a heads up most all modern HDDs are about the same speed. If you demand high end speed for your whole PC then I suggest an SSD.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 35
Default

What's a good SSD? Maybe like a SSD HDD combo?
MichaelH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: New Hard Drive!

Combos are a waste as the "SSD" part is essentially just a cache.

What HDD do you have now? If you already have something 500GB or bigger you can drop some cash on a 128GB SSD and use the bigger drive for large programs and storage.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 35
Default

My HDD is corrupted. I need a new one.
MichaelH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: New Hard Drive!

Is it clicking or not showing up in the bios? If not, it's probably still just fine. If you're dead set on getting a new drive then the answers above are the only 2 options really.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 35
Default

I ran tests on it and it failed. I had another thread which I figured out it was the HDD
MichaelH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: New Hard Drive!

Newegg.com - Western Digital WD Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 08:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: New Hard Drive!

i would use this opportunity, like PP said, to get a nice 128gig ssd. save up for a bit and buy your self an external Hard drive, later on.

i bought my Samsung 830 128gig SSD for $70, my 128gig, after installing windows 8, has 101gigs of space left, enough for 5 or 6 full fledged modern games at about 20 gigs each. there are tons of great deals like that out there, just gotta look for them. and you can get a 1tb external hard drive for under $100 all day long from any etailer.


i just built my new computer with my ssd and i kid you not, no exaggeration, my computer starts in 11 seconds, from the time i push the button on the case to i am in a booted usable OS, that means opening files and launching the internet. 11 seconds.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 08:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 35
Default

I have an external hhard drive (500 GB) and I was thinking 120 is too little because of the programs and stuff. I have 80 steam games.
__________________

MichaelH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.